A bad habit that almost ended me

in Steem Healthcare3 years ago (edited)

HABITS

habits-written-in-wood-blocks.jpg
Source

Habits they say, are things that you do often and almost without thinking.
Those things then become something you find hard to stop doing.
These habits may be for the better while some are very detrimental to the physical and psychological wellbeing of the person concerned.
Some successful persons have confirmed that most of their success is attributed to a certain habit they created for themselves, Such as;

  • Staying up at night
  • Prostrating when greeting superiors
  • Reading
  • Diligence in funds management

In the contrary, some other habits as earlier stated have been proven to be very detrimental to human wellbeing; such habits raise concern, as these kind of habits are most difficult to stop, we call them bad habits
Science Has it that there is almost no human on earth without a bad habit, noticeable or not.

Bad Habits

In definition, bad habits can be seen as those negative actions a person does occasionally, knowingly and unknowingly, which has a negative attribute on his wellbeing.
I am not an exception, I must confess, I have a lot of habits I’m not proud of, but recently I just came to realization of a certain thing I’ve been doing constantly without even realizing it had become a part of me.

Over here in Nigeria, feeding has been a major problem to the larger population of Nigeria, this, coupled with bad government has really destroyed the standard of living in the Nigerian public schools boarding system.
During my high school days, about 13 years ago, I was a boarding student and due to our financial status, I had to attend a public school, this I must say was a very tough challenge to me mostly the feeding, apart from being too small, the food we were served as boarders was so bad that we had to sprinkle salt on it before it became a bit palatable for consumption.
diseases-salt-intake-dangers-THS.webp
Source
This was the beginning of a habit, something I’m now praying to stop, I did this though out my 6 years of stay in school, little did I know that it will metamorphose into a habit I’ll be struggling to quit.

After graduation from the O’level, this habit still stayed with me, my taste buds adjusted to the toxicity of the raw cooking salt, an average meal had to be salty for me to be able to detect the presence of salt in it, thus I had to be adding raw uncooked salt to every meal I had.
Haven’t realized this, I decided to visit a doctor and I was made to understand the harm I was inflicting on myself not less than 3 times a day by taking raw uncooked table salt.

"We all know that excessive consumption of salt leads to high blood pressure, stomach cancer, obesity and even asthma. You will be surprised to know that excess intake of uncooked salt leads to heart issues and kidney problems"

recipes.timesofindia.com

Curative measures

Before it escalates into an uncontrollable situation, I pleaded for help and I was referred to a therapist of which I’m still receiving therapy, so far I’ve be guided on measures to take so as to discipline myself from taking raw salt.
I must say that it’s been two ,months since I began my therapy and I must say its really gone a long way as my test buds are beginning to pick up again, and I hope I get over this before the year runs out.

Finally I leave you with a message from HAVARD
GettyImages-1151196088.jpg
Source

Appreciation

Special thanks to @shc-curator for availing the community this enlightenment opportunity, I equally want to extend appreciations in advance to all who’ll be extending a hand of appreciation to this publication.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54