Pets in my house? My pets... Not for petting

in Steem of Animals7 months ago (edited)

The only person in my family who kept pets was my grandfather. None of these animals were kept inside the house. I can't remember my grandparent's dog still being alive, but I do remember the huge cage my grandfather built underneath, and around, the trunk of the spruce tree which was at least 3 meters high, to keep his birds.

His geese walked in the orchard.
Perfect watchdogs, of which he always jokingly said when they ran towards him: listen, they say I'm crazy (gak the sound geese make sounds like the Dutch word gek (= crazy).
In a large barn, he kept animals that I only later understood were chinchillas. Why did he breed them? I suspect for the fur trade, but I'm not sure.
My grandmother didn't like animals.

I grew up with dogs myself.

Two dogs were the norm. They were outside or in the kitchen. There was also a large freshwater aquarium. As a child I briefly had a bunny (a classmate's grandfather bred rabbits), I had turtles (red eared, received through a classmate), a goldfish (won at the fair but that turned out not to be a goldfish), a gold hamster (bought as a gift in the pet store and a very intelligent attaching animal) and a dog (received to replace the dog my mother promised during my sick bed, she let kill the vet mine).

When I started living on my own, I soon had a dog and an aquarium. The dog came from a shelter and was aggressive, a bad choice. The shelter talked me into it. I brought it back and the vet killed it.
The aquarium was purchased just like the many fish that ultimately died because my ex gave my equipment to his girlfriend during my absence.


20240208_125407.jpgmy present aquarium

The English word pet means that you can touch, can pet the animal you keep, and it may feel like that, but many animals I had did not like to be touched.
I prefer to keep pets (_the Dutch word is huisdier meaning 'home-animal' an animal you keep at your place which can be outside as well: goats, pigs, chickens, cows, and so on) outside. To my opinion it is healthier for animals to be animals and not to treated like substitute humans, to be confronted with the stress and noise owners experience and produce.
If the owner projects his misery on an animal it does affect the pet. It's not what I want for the animals I keep.
Besides it's difficult to keep many animals in a small place, I don't want them in the bedroom and certainly not on the bed. I don't like the hair, mud, drool and smell everywhere.


signal-2023-06-13-19-21-29-373.jpg

My wolfdogs are too big

to move around the house freely and they find being indoors unpleasant. It stresses them out just like walking on the street and sitting in the car. I have tried it in the past, but I don't want to put them through unnecessary stress. If I go away, they stay home. If I go away for longer, someone will come and feed them. The choice is limited because strangers cannot do this.
All but one dog was purchased from a breeder abroad who knows the type of dog I have. There is a lot of wolf in this breed, so we have to wait and see how social the animal becomes. I don't need a lap dog and all the dogs I have are strong, stubborn, intelligent, they have humour and they suit me very well. They go their way during the day just like me and we cuddle if I feed them, that is important to stay close and enough to me.

The snake was purchased via an internet site.
According to the former snake owner, difficult to keep alive. Kevin was the size of an earthworm, maybe smaller, but we never had any problem. I think s/he is still growing, a plus is s/he eats little and doesn't miss us if we stay away for days or even weeks. S/he never had health issues. It is not a cuddly toy, but curious. If there is a lot of walking up and down, s/he always comes to take a look even though the hibernation has started. I like to observe Kevin, it's a beautiful animal.

I started a small aquarium as a test.

I want an ecosystem aquarium, im my case one without a lamp, filter and the need to constantly change the water. This means that there must be natural light and the plants must provide the necessary oxygen for the fish. The fish droppings must also be suitable as fertilizer for aquatic plants. Because it is cold, I do need a heating element during winter and I cover the aquarium with bubble plastic to prevent the water from cooling down too much. Power outages are a problem, especially if they last longer. Twice my fish nearly died.
I'm waiting until winter is over so I can redecorate the tank. Next, I will buy more plants or start a tank with only aquatic plants. I bought my first fish and some of the guppies were born in the aquarium. The snails came with the water plants.


ecobsystem aquarium - youtube video

As soon as I approach or pass by the tank, all the fish get excited. Not because they love me dearly, but because I am associated with... food. This is taught behaviour, and the cat and dogs act exactly the same even if they just had their meal.

It doesn't matter what animal, if it's my daughter's dog, my son's cat, I am the food supplier. As soon as the owner arrives, they have long since forgotten me, the "love" for me is over. How cool is that?

Does my son's cat love me

because I spend most of the time with him and he keeps trying to break into my room? I do not think so. It is an animal that sees me as its servant and sits expectantly next to me when I am in the kitchen. You never know if I, the clumsy human, might drop something.

A Dutch saying: A man's love goes through his stomach, this is not even the case with animals and to me that's fine.


20221126_201245.jpg

I bought my son's tomcat and also the cat who lives outside from an elderly in the village. That lady had several litters. I paid her so that she could buy food for the mother animal and because I think it is best to put a value on an animal. Animals are living beings that we humans might be happier with and take better care of if they come with a price tag.

I ran a shelter for many years

(abused animals with health and mental issues) and I know what I'm talking about. For sure I am not the best pet owner around but I try to do my best. If I don't feel well, or feel stressed, I stay away from those close to me, which are my wolves since they are my pack and they know me, feel how I feel.
Many pets feel the stress of their owner, it might be it does humans good to have an animal for a companion but the beloved pets do become sick because of us, the owner. This is something I try to avoid and I advise other pet owners to do as well.


All photos are mine
8-2-2024
I am a mobile phone user only


#steemexclusive #pets #club5050 #holland #animals #kittywu #life #burnsteem25

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 7 months ago 

You are welcome. 🍀❤️

I can see that you really love animals as a pet. I like seeing people with pet, but the fact is, some pet are more dangerous. I have read about several pet who end up harming their owner. If I ever change my mind to buy a pet , I think that will be a cat.

I want to understand something, do you truly pet a snake?

 7 months ago 

Yes, I do have a snake for a pet. This one isn't dangerous or poison and has an extra plus it won't die from a poinsoned bite/animal. How cool is that?

Cats can be easy but better stay away from a wild cat! If a cat attacks you,you won't be happy.

🍀❤️

I think snakenisbmire dangerous than cat.

 7 months ago 

It all depends on the snake and the cat. 👋

Loading...
 7 months ago 

Is it okay for my brother to put my crabs in my brother's aquarium😂🤣

Thank you very much beloved brother for your support and support for me ☺️

 7 months ago (edited)

It depends on their size! The aquarium isn't big. Do they like sweet or sea water?

If you support me I support you.

🍀❤️

 7 months ago 

Crabs in my place live in various types of water, such as salt water and fresh water😀

 7 months ago 

So no Mr Crabs from Sponge bob 😂

Well, I keep some room for the small fresh water crabs, not the 1 kilogram each monsters!

🍀❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59