My favorite fable

in Steem of Animals8 months ago

image.png
Source

I had a book when I was a kid which was a compendium of several fables that Scheherazade told the King, always stopping at the point where the story was at its most interesting. This ploy kept her alive. This book had about thirty different fables, most of them very well known and all of them very interesting to a teenager who loved reading. But among all of these fables there was one that really caught my mind, and I found it the most interesting of all. Funnily, today looking it up on Google to refresh my mind for this contest I could not find it.

In any case as far as I remember, and I am talking about at least 47 years ago, there was this young guy who was hired to take care of several old men who lived in a palace, Interestingly, these old men spent all their day crying and talking to no one. The boy was told he could do whatever he wanted after attending to the old guys except open a certain door. Of course eventually the curiosity of seeing these crying men and a forbidden door was to much for him so he opened the door.

He was transported to a palace, where he was met by a beautiful woman who became his wife, he was immensely rich and lived happily. But, again, there was another door his wife told him he must never open. Well, a human is a human and he again succumbed, he opened the door. And voila, he was back in the palace with the crying old men only now he too was crying. They all cried because of what they had lost because of curiosity.

This fable has always intrigued me, could it be that we, as humans cannot control ourselves enough to not do what we are told not to do? And it is so, when somebody tells me don't do something, I mean my body starts itching and I just think of what might happen if I do do what I am forbidden to. And normally I think I am told not to do it because I might gain something they don't want me to. Probably what I will gain is a complete loss of confidence from the person who told me not to do it.

I only put one picture as I could find nothing relating to my fable, but that is my favorite fable so there you go.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...