Green Heron???

in Steem of Animals2 months ago

During the weekend I was taking my daily walk and I went to the beach. I went as far as a place where there is an entrance of the sea, the thing is only about eight feet wife, I can't jump that. There were some stones and even a log but they looked kind of iffy to me so I stayed on this side.

Then I noticed this bird on a rock, as you can see by the picture there was also another rock covered by a plastic bag, garbage people just throw all over the place. But it seems it attracted this bird. What really got me was it let me get real close, so the pictures are more or less clear.

But then it flew away, but just to the other side, I of course, could not follow it, so I took the last two pictures. Those are not as clear, but I wanted to give you an idea of what I saw.

Now I know practically nothing about birds so I Google searched the pictures to get a reasonable idea of what this bird is. Every search I gave returned, as the first result that it is a Green Heron. I have no idea if this is so, but I will go with it. Now, why is it called Green heron? I see no green on it.

But. I do think that Google is right. I have seen a lot of Herons in that area, white, brown, even a black one. So maybe this is the one I was missing, the green one. Also, I guess this area must be teeming with fish, because that is what herons eat, nobody fishes there though, the water is not too clean.

Well, I guess somebody seeing this can confirm if this is really a Green Heron. Thanks.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65904.42
ETH 2618.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67