I have never played the best selling video game of all time

in Steem Gaming3 years ago

I am a regular gamer. I wouldn't say that I am addicted to it or even as much of a fan as a lot of other people are. There are even some days where I don't game at all even though I do have time to do so and have dozens of games that i have either not completed or haven't even downloaded yet.

When I was a kid I would dream about some of the games that I was working on, stay up too late playing them, think about them at school, and use every moment that I could muster on certain games - so I'm not really an active user even though I do buy games every month and some of them, such as the mild addiction I had to Hollow Knight kind of bring out the kid in me.

However, there is a stark difference between the games that I played as a kid and the games that are popular now. These days if your games sells 5 million copies and you are a major studio, it is considered a colossal failure whereas in the 80's and early 90's you would have been delighted.

The best selling game of all time has sold a whopping 200,000,0000 copies and one of those copies has NOT been to me, as I have never played it, not even once.


src

Maybe to some of you this factoid is not much of a surprise but to me it was. I knew that a lot of people played this and that kids were mental over it but I had no idea that it was the best selling game of all time by a long shot. The next best selling game is GTA5 which has sold 60 million copies LESS than Minecraft.

pewdiepielostminecraftcreatureyoutube.jpg
src

Perhaps some of the allure is drivin by Pewdiepie, which as I am sure you know is the most popular YT'er in the world. He used to do and maybe still does weekly episodes and commentary on Minecraft although lately he seems to have shifted over to Among us for laughs with his viewers.

The thing about Minecraft that amazes me about it's popularity is that it does not have been graphics. This just goes to show that this is not necessary for a game to be popular. There are plenty of amazing games out there that don't have exceptional graphics and there are some games out there, namely the last two additions of the Final Fantasy franchise, whose graphics have been stellar but the game itself kinda sucks.

Some studios focus so much on graphics that they don't seem to realize that people need a great game; if we want to see great graphics we will go and watch a movie. This, combined with the fact that Minecraft is a game that can never actually be completed, leads to a very dedicated fanbase.

To be honest with you I don't even know if you have to pay a monthly subscription for Minecraft... do you? I reckon they are probably doing micro-transactions or periodic upgrades in order to keep their revenue model going.

Whatever it is, I have never played it, or even seen it being played by anyone other than Pewdiepie and honestly, I probably wouldn't have done that if it weren't for the fact that this guy can be so hilarious at times.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 36 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Its actually a really good game and their survival mode is both fun and challenging. Who knows, maybe you'll try it someday.

What do you think are the best blockchain games? Thanks in advance for your reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99