Showcase Sunday: "Childhood Classics: Postal 2 || {#gaming}"

in Steem Gaming5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Some of the pictures aren't showing up for me, which is sad. :( the first, last and second to last one, to be exact.

Otherwise, great post!

Hmm, weird. They work fine on my phone. :thinking:
Thanks for stopping by!
[chanting]: write some posts! Write some posts!

I'm obviously getting even depressingly older when people are talking about games from this century as being retro lol

At which point does retro become vintage? I've got Commodore Vic 20 games on tapes! Yes cassette tapes of which some people will have no idea what they are. They are almost twice your age punk-mama ...I don't know whether to LOL or find a slash my wrists emocion!

Back in the day when there was a left, right and fire button and you didn't need a months full time training and 6 thumbs to play...

PS I'm Gen X so no 'OK boomer' memes please...I detest baby boomers even more than millennials lol ;-)

Don't worry, I've had people respond to me with "OK boomer"! (WTF, right?) :D

I also remember playing this game in the early 2000s and I remember thinking "what a crazy and fucked up game". I pirated it at that time probably but now a proud owner of it in my gog.com library. Haven't had the time to kick it in gear yet though, since I have to wade through my 200+ game libraries, which I seem to have acquired over time, unbeknownst to me somehow.

How about making it a challenge to try out every game you own (or at least half of them) and write posts about them? :D

I'm hoping to play at least a third of them, with the emphasis being on horror (just re-did the Outlast series and Layers of Fear, and then the pants-crapping Amnesia. Currently doing the oldie Dead Space for the first time) and I also carry some love for point-and-click with a good story(just finished Ken Follett's Pillars of da Earth).

Next in line are both Evil Withins and RE series and Chains of Satinav and Memoria. All this while trying to live a normal family life as well. Ugh so little time :)

This was very interesting to read for me, as a retro gamer. I have never played Postal but I remember it from the early 2000s. It used to be mentioned in different gamer magazines.

Here is my post about retro gaming https://steemit.com/life/@lauvlad89/globalization-s-child-part-1-gaming-connecting-people

Thanks for stopping by! It's a shame your post is 15 days old, too late for getting more rewards from upvotes. Nevertheless I enjoyed reading it! We have a similar video game museum here in Tallinn, Estonia, called LVLup!. They're also interactive, adults pay like 5€ for an hour to play on whatever they want. They have so many different consoles from Ataris to Soviet knock-offs of Famicom (f.e Dendy) to real-deal NES, SNES, SEGA consoles, nowadays more popular and newer PS4s, everything inbetween, even a couple of arcade machines and maybe the legendary Pong).

Thanks :) I was in Talinn last year and I am planning to come this year as well. So thanks for the hint about retro gaming. If you are in Stockholm, there is a place called Ne3rds , it is a game bar

https://n3rdsbar.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61659.26
ETH 2446.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60