Halo: Infinite Multiplayer Review

in Steem Gaming3 years ago (edited)

Hi I'm new to Steemit, while wandering through the communities and joining a couple which stood out to me there I saw it, Steem Gaming. I knew I had to join and figured I would break the ice talking about Halo: Infinite, as for the last while it has pretty much been the only game I've been playing

Halo Infinite.png
.

I started playing the Halo: Infinite multiplayer about three weeks ago, at first I was hesitant because I could see that there was a battle pass attached to the game. Even though nearly every game comes with one of those these days, even The Master Chief Collection and Halo 5 got one. I really didn't know whether this game was going to be for me and whether I wanted to buy the battle pass for it.

My first day playing I slinked onto it nervously, with two friends in tow. We started to load up some big team. Afraid of what would happen to us, in this familiar yet different place. We lost... badly. We tried to keep our morale high, sadly though we lost our second match too. One of my friends began to get irate, I tried to calm him down and we carried on with one more game and no, still lost. We were clumsy. The weapons seemed new and scary, the enemy were quick and we were slow. We tried staying together and that didn't work, we tried splitting up that didn't work either. Everyone decided in the main menu after that third game that's enough, no more. So we all went on to play something else, but I couldn't get the thought of the new Halo game out of my head.

I went back to it the next day and started winning a few games, even contributing to the wins with a couple of kills and the odd capture of a flag. I almost felt the way I did during the old Halo 3 days. Not long after I started to get the hang of the gameplay a new mode arrived, Fiesta. Small 4v4 Slayer and Objective game modes where the weapons you spawned with were random. It was just what we needed to get the hang of the game and all the new weapons, grenades, maps and equipment that this new Halo brought to the table.

One of the people I played with on the first day had told us he wont be playing it anymore and wont be buying the battle pass, but, after the new mode released we talked him into giving it a go with us. He loved it, we all did. We started completing challenges and ranking up. Then after we reached about level 1o on the battle pass we all decided to buy it, since some of the armour looked pretty cool and the selection of Colours for that armour also would help differentiate us and stand out.

We had a few complaints though, in previous games we were able to just paint our armour whatever we wanted, for free. Now there are pre-determined schemes for you to use, which can only be used on which ever armour set you unlocked it for. I really don't like that, we wanted the battle pass initially so we could start standing out from each other and other players a bit, but, ended up all looking the same with the odd slight variation. Soon the few issues we had went to the back of our minds as we carried on enjoying the game for what it was.

We got used to the gameplay and got comfortable with it, mainly playing Fiesta. The week was drawing to a close and the countdown timer for the Fiesta event was reaching zero. We had spoken about it potentially leaving, but we thought no, they wouldn't get rid of this game mode it's fun. But, sadly they did. Leaving us with the Three other modes, Quick Play, essentially Fiesta, but you spawn with the typical weapons. Big Team Battle, a bigger version of Quick Play 12v12 with some different maps, and two different game modes. Then last but not least, Ranked, which is also kind of like Quick Play, but each match will increase or decrease your rank.

The game is good, but, there are some game modes I miss that haven't made it onto the game yet. Which is kind of sad because I've gotten to a point with Halo: Infinite where I don't feel like playing as much as I have in the last couple of weeks. Maybe it's just an off day, I played Three games today to finish off my final challenge we done well, but once that challenge was over I decided to turn it off and wait until the new challenges come out on Tuesday.

It has a few issues that I think would be easily fixed and I hope they do get around to it soon, we need a choice of game modes to play, depending on how we're feeling. Sometimes you want to play something and be full on competitive other times you want to take it easy. Halo: Infinite is missing any game mode where you can take it easy playing, also you can't actually choose what you want to play. You can choose what scale you want, but, not which type of game which is a bit irritating and those 3 choices seem pretty small when it's essentially all there is to it. I will keep on playing it I'd say, but just maybe not as much as I have been.

I'm over half way through the campaign for it which released on the 9th of December, so I think I'll write up a Blog reviewing that once I've completed it. Until then though I hope if you've found this article you enjoyed hearing about my experiences with this game and I'd be interested in talking with anyone about it in the comments.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Thank's, I'm enjoying it so far

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44