Tales from Dungeons and Dragons: The Persuasive, fatal Cleric

in Steem Gaming4 years ago (edited)

My introduction to Dungeons and Dragons was via Baldur's Gate. Lots of people used this title as the gateway drug into the wonderful world of Dungeons and Dragons. A few months back, I joined a campaign with some friends, and in the COVID-19 era, we've been using Roll20 to play online instead of gathering at one of the player's homes.

I'm playing a Cleric who carries around a small bookshelf as a shield. On the bookshelf are the collected tomes and a small library of his research. He's also a kleptomaniac, a wise-ass, and fond of reading everything in sight.

He's also a shrewd business man, and good in the ways of cooking books, and as a result, is a mischievous character without being a rogue.

The scenario:

The party is tasked with travelling to an island to kill an evil warlock type. Along the way, they encounter a merchant who is due to deliver uniforms to the warlock's underlings, having just saved her from a possessed goat. She agrees to provide them with uniforms to act as a disguise. The Part takes the uniforms.

Enter Dungeon. There's some underlings. My character waltzes up to the first one who's standing on a bridge near a forge - I say 'G'DAY, I'm the back up!'

As a cleric, I use the skill Inflict Wound, and deal 3d10 damage to the poor bloke. He nearly dies, and a member of my party goes "Oh no, they've had a heart attack", and proceed to stab away the rest of the unfortunate enemy's life.

A member of the enemy party approaches and remarks about how there's a surprisingly large amount of blood for a heart attack. I roll to persuade, Nat 20.

Then, there's some necrotic skeletons, I use Turn Undead, and send two flying off into pits of Lava.

Silence from the DM. Shrieks of excitement and laughter from the party. I was a hero. Roll for initiative, and then Initiate the rest of the combat, and enjoy the rest of the D&D session.

What are some of your favourite tales from Dungeons and Dragons sessions you've been involved in?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64