Thoughts about the newest Humble Drop: June 2023

in Steem Gaminglast year

Thoughts about the newest Humble Drop: June 2023.png

Ghostwire: Tokyo
Remnant: From the Ashes
Curse of the Dead Gods
Honey, I Joined a Cult
Eternal Threads
GRIME
Turbo Golf Racing
Meeple Station

This is an interesting drop from Humble Bundle this month. Originally, when I saw the list of games... I was a little bit underwhelmed, but on closer inspection... actually, it has a few games that I had been wanting to buy and had on my wishlist on Steam for quite some time. Thankfully, I had not purchased the games... even in this very tempting current Steam Summer Sale! I really have to remember to resist the urge to buy things in the Steam sales, as many of the games that I have wishlisted eventually find their way to the Humble Bundle subscription drops anywway!

So, lets take a quick dive and peek into June's Humble Bundle drop!

Ghostwire was the headline game for this bundle... and it was the game that on first inspection seemed like it just wasn't the game for me. I'm a chicken when it comes to games that are a bit horror based... and supernatural things are a bit scary for me. However, I really loved games like FEAR and Control... so, I really want to play these games, but they really have to be well done for me to fight through my easily jump-started imagination! And Ghostwire, it does seem to have similar vibes to these games. So, I'm going to be brave and take a chance on this game... I want to enjoy it, I'm just a little scared that I won't sleep for the next month! Thankfully, my oldest is going through a similar thing with movies at the moment... so, I'll be in good company at least!

Remnant is one of the games that I've been eyeing off in the current Steam sale, and it has been sitting on my wishlist for a very long time. I've been a touch on the fence due to the 3 player co-op option which makes me wonder if it will be a good single player game as well. The idea of a post-apocalyptic setting is always have me intrigued... I love the survival and hardcore games that are also in that genre, so on the surface, it does look like Remnant is going to be a good fit for me!

Another top down rogue-like in the form of Curse of the Dead Gods... and this has been definitely sitting on my wishlist for ages! This is going to be the perfect game for the Steam Deck! I'm going to have to free up some space on the Deck, but I think I'm going to start sorting out the installs to be better fits for either the gaming laptop or the Deck.

When I first saw Honey, I Joined a Cult, I thought it was going to be a sort of RimWorld-like experience. Sadly, it is more of a simple tycoon/management game... but it still seems like some harmless fun for passing away train/bus journeys! I'm not 100 percent sure that I would have bought it by itself, but that is the sheer joy of Humble Bundle drops... you get to try out games that you wouldn't otherwise be willing to spend money on!

Eternal Threads does look like an intriguing game... puzzle and story with time manipulation as the game mechanic. Seems like a decent game that has a definite play time that is manageable!

GRIME is an interesting side-scroller RPG... you mutate and absorb the remains of your defeated foes. It looks appropriately dark in style... and everything does seem pretty good about it... but I'm just not a fan of side scroller games, so even though there are many things good about this game, I'm afraid that if I claim it, it just isn't going to end up being my cup of tea. So, I'm going to list this on my store... eventually, when I do a store post!

Turbo Golf Racing... ummmmm... amusingly over the top, but not for me.

Meeple Station on the other hand, is definitely the game for me! A management, survival, and simulator... these are definitely my games. RimWorld and Skylines are among my favourite games, so Meeple Station promises to be right up my alley... even with the low-fi graphics!

So, all in all, not a bad drop this month! Lots of things that I'm going to claim for myself! YAY!


I can also be found cross-posting at:
Hive
Steem
Publish0x


Handy Crypto Tools

Ledger Nano S/X: Keep your crypto safe and offline with the leading hardware wallet provider. Not your keys, not your crypto!
Binance: My first choice of centralised exchange, featuring a wide variety of crypto and savings products.
GMX.io: Decentralised perpetual futures trading on Arbitrum!
Coinbase: If you need a regulated and safe environment to trade, this is the first exchange for most newcomers!
Crypto.com: Mixed feelings, but they have the BEST looking VISA debit card in existence! Seriously, it is beautiful!
CoinList: Access to early investor and crowdsale of vetted and reserached projects.
Cointracking: Automated or manual tracking of crypto for accounting and taxation reports.

Splinterlands (aka the best blockchain game out there!)


Humble Bundle

Have you heard of Humble Bundle? It's a place to get some really great deals on Games, e-books and comic bundles. However, if you sign up for a Humble Bundle Subscription (12 USD per month) you get some really nice bonuses!

  1. A 100+ USD bundle of games delivered direct to you each month, redeemable on Steam, Uplay or direct download (depending on the game). This includes recent Triple A games!
  2. Access to the Humble Bundle "Trove", a list of 60 games (and growing...) which are free to play as long as you remain a subscriber!
  3. Additional Discounts on the Humble Bundle store, with the choice of supporting charities, Humble Bundle or developers in whatever percentage that you wish!

Humble Bundle Subscriptions, it's a no brainer for the dedicated gamer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45