Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC) WK14:#1: Neglect in families, effects on kids

in Steem Kids & Parents9 months ago (edited)

pexels-migs-reyes-4205505.jpg
Source

Introduction

Neglect in families can be referred to as the failure of parents and guardians to provide the needed care, provision, protections, supervision and support to their child's or ward's wellbeing. This ranges from the lack of basic life necessities like as food, clothing, shelter, and medical care, as well as emotional and educational support. Neglect simply means lack of something. This can have negative effects on kids emotionally, psychologically, physically and socially. It is important to understand the various aspects of the neglect, it's consequences and possible ways of preventing it.

Neglect can come in various aspects like physical neglect (failure to provide adequate food, shelter, and clothing), medical neglect (lack of basic healthcare), educational neglect (failure to provide appropriate education), emotional neglect (failure to meet the child's emotional needs), and supervisory neglect (failure to sufficiently supervise and provide protection to the child).

What does neglect of responsibilities mean in a family🙇?

With the above introduction, we can say neglect of responsibilities in family occurs when parents parents and guardians failed to provide the above listed aspects to their kids/ward's.

Have I been neglected or seen anyone neglected? What are the effects on the kids

Yes I have been neglected, I grew up facing neglect in many angles. First my parents were divorced so I never got to experience that family love other kids. Then my dad remarried and I found myself fighting for attention and love. I became angry, moody, I had low self-esteem and social disorders. My dad wouldn't let me play with the kids in the neighbourhood because he believed they were bad influence, this made me unable to make friends and always withdrawn. I also lacked emotional support, I couldn't share my feelings with my dad because I was afraid of what he would say. If he got angry I would surely get a beating. This made me further withdrawn.
Till now I still face the consequences of those neglect from my parents.

My advice to parents who neglect their responsibilities towards their kids.

I want to advise parents to stop it. To work on being there for their children. What you fail to give to your children they will search for it elsewhere especially from their peers which could lead to bad peer influence. This is why we have high crime rate in the society and very promiscuous youths. By neglecting your child you cause problems for yourself and the society as large. Every parent should ensure to love their kids and bring them up with all the love they can offer.

My advice to the kids who are neglected

To the kids who are neglected I would say you should know that you are not the problem. Your creator loves you very much. You shouldn't hate your parents too because that will end badly for you too. Look for role models in other people whom you can follow. You can seek help from a counselor, a religious leader or an elder in your family.
Do not be tempted to get relevance from your peers because you may end up joining bad peer groups who will lead you to immorality, drugs, crime, etc

Conclusion

I want to thank the steem kids and parents community for the opportunity to write about this. I invite @vudeme123 and @bossj23 to take part in this engagement challenge.
I also appreciate my readers for taking your time to go through this. I hope you learnt something.
Steem on.

Sort:  

Thanks for the invite
I can only imagine what you went through as a child. Sorry about that, I don't wish that to any child.
I hope you forgive your dad especially, so you don't become like him unintentionally, and I know you will get to treat your kids with love and care🤗🤗

Your poignant narrative on neglect in families is both powerful and courageous. Sharing your personal experience adds a compelling touch making it relatable. Your advice to parents is crucial call to action urging them to recognize the profound impact of their role in a childs life. For neglected kids your words provide solace and guidance emphasizing the importance of seeking positive influences. Wishing you success in the contest a platform where your words can bring awareness and foster positive change. May your story resonate inspiring understanding and empathy. Best wishes for your continued journey of healing and advocacy.

 9 months ago 

Thank you @hamzayousafzai. I am grateful.

Loading...
 9 months ago 

Hello friend greetings to you, hope you are having good time there.

Neglection of parents to their kids is actually the greatest failure of the parents. I am so sorry to see that you have been passed through that bad phase of life. I really wish you have a bright future now and you get all those things which you want in life. Be strong and brave my friend. God is always with us.

Best wishes in the contest.

 9 months ago 

Thank you for your good wishes friend. I am happy for your kind words.

 9 months ago 

It's sad to know you've experienced neglect from family in unexpected ways which has affected your emotions and the way you relate with people. It's kind of disheartening though I've not experienced such before. You'll just have to learn to let some things go and remember, you're valued by all. Thanks for your Invite

 9 months ago 

Thank you sir. I'm grateful.

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For December 2023 Curated by - <@goodybest>

Note: Try and engage meaningfully with fellow users, comment and upvote on their post, as this will help you to have good Voting CSI

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58363.73
ETH 2484.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39