Food challenge contest week #82|| For kids and parents| Teach The Kids/Kids Food Challenge| share Your Food Diary With Us

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year

Hello wonderful Steemit friends. Hope we are good. The week is set again to bring our sumptuous dishes to the table. I keep saying I’m not a foodie, but trust me, I like cooking. Special thanks to @steemkidss for always making us learn from each other daily.

For this week, I’m back with not just a delicious food, but a healthy one at that. Join me as we unravel this together. Shall we?

IMG_20231002_174501_395~2.jpg
Face of my vegetable soup

Vegetable soup is what I’ll be bringing to the table today. This soup is known in my dialect as (efere nkong, or edikang ikong). I fact, my state is known for preparing this soup in a very special way.

The steps to preparing this soup are just as simple as you didn’t imagine. I’m sure you wouldn’t want to miss this. Shall we proceed already?

There’s a proverb here in my place that says “a good soup is killed with a good sum of money.” This doesn’t mean a soup is literally murdered. It only means a soup with a good taste is made with a reasonable amount of money. But do not panic.

This soup doesn’t cost much to taste nice or provide you with the nutritional benefits it has.

Ingredients

Vegetables
Water leaves
Palm oil
Crayfish
Pepper
Maggi
Salt
Stockfish
Cow skin
Fish

These are the ingredients I have with me. The ingredients are not limited to the ones mentioned here. You can go ahead and add whatever you think can make your soup finger-licking. As for me, these are the ones I’ve got.

IMG_20221205_185330_793~2.jpg
Fish

To begin, the cowskin and the stockfish should be cooked. They should be properly cooked. While this is ongoing, the vegetables and the water leaves should be thoroughly washed and cut.

I like mine to be cut in very tiny bits, so I take my time to see I make it just the way I like it. After this, we move to the next step.

The next thing to do here is to see if the stockfish and its other counterparts are well cooked and soft. If they are, then it’s time to begin fully. By this time, the water should be near dried, that is, very little in the pot, if not dry. What happens here is to pour in the cut vegetables into the pot and pour in some palm oil. The oil here should be enough to cook the soup. The pot should be covered after this for steaming.

IMG_20231002_174404_630~2.jpg
soup

The next step is when the water leaves begin to heat up, the quantity of water should be small. This depends on how thick you want your soup to be.

I like mine to be moderate, not too thick, and not too watery, so it’s just in between. Immediately the water is added, other ingredients should be added to it. The likes oof crayfish, pepper, maggi, and salt. Again, the pot should be well covered.

The next step which is the last step is to pour in the cut vegetables. Immediately this is done, the soup should be stirred and dished at once. There’s no need to overcook the vegetables. I like it fresh and greenish, so once I pour in the vegetables, I bring it down from fire.

IMG_20231002_174449_022~2.jpg
Ready to quench the hunger

The very final stage is to dish your soup and have it with anything you want to. For me, it’s garri. But it can also be had with foofoo, semovita, semolina, etc. This is a very delicious soup that can take very few minutes of your time as seen here.

Health benefits
The soup alone has some good benefits to the body.

BenefitsBenefits
CarbohydratesAids in weight loss.
Eases digestionPrevents gastric anomalies.
Strengthen bonesPromotes heart functioning.

These and many more are the health benefits associated with this simple meal. Hope you were able to learn a thing or two from here.

Would like to invite my friends, @ukpono, @hudamalik and @tenguhatanga to participate in this contest.

Thanks for reading through.

Sort:  
Loading...
 last year 

Wow!! That food looks so delicious. Vegetable soups happen to be my favourite soups as it is always very tasty. I have never eaten this your soup, I hope I will eat it someday?

Thank you for inviting me to the contest

 last year 

Thank you.

 last year 

Your presentation is very good, you have told the recipe of food in a very easy way, it is also easy to make. Good luck with the contest 👍

 last year 

Thanks, friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48