Food challenge contest week #67|| For kids and parents| Teach The Kids/Kids Food Challenge| share Your Food Diary With Us

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year (edited)

IMG_20230604_143911_989~2.jpg
Face of my jollof rice

Hello fellow steemians. Hope we all are doing okay. I'm back in my kitchen today to teach us how to fix delicious jollof rice. I believe most, if not all of us, enjoy this particular meal. If you haven't tasted it before, you need to.

As usual, I have all the ingredients I need available here. To fix jollof rice, all I need are tomatoes, either fresh, sachets or tin tomatoes, or mixed in some cases. I also have some seasonings with me. You may also wish to use the beef you like or want to. And any other thing you feel will add to the tastiness of your food.

For me here, the following are the ingredients I have.

  • Rice
    IMG_20230102_163632_055~2.jpg
    raw rice

  • Tin tomatoes
    IMG_20230102_163927_352~2.jpg

  • Groundnut oil

  • Pepper

  • Onions

  • Maggi

  • Salt

  • Crayfish

  • Ginger and garlic
    IMG_20230102_165244_879~2.jpg
    Ginger and garlic

I have all these available, so we proceed with the processes now.

First is to parboil my rice. During this process, other arrangements should be made to cook the rice. This means that, this time should be used to cut open your tin tomato, or the sachet and put it in a plate and turn it with a little water to help stir it. If you have the fresh one, you can actually cook the fresh tomatoes, until they are soft to either pound or grind. This too can be added to give the sauce more thickness.

For me here, I have the tin tomatoes, so I open it and mix it in a bowl. The next thing I do is to pound my crayfish, cut my onions and bring my sifter to sift the rice.
By this time, the rice is ready to wash. So I immediately pour it into my sifter and leave it there, covered. I rinse the pot and put it back on fire waiting for it to be dry. Once the pot is dry, I pour in the amount of oil that'll cook my rice well, and leave for a few seconds. When the oil is hot, I can add a little salt to it and some onions, the grated ginger and garlic, followed by the tomatoes I had mixed.

IMG_20230102_171808_125~3.jpg
Face of my stew

All I do here is to keep stirring for the tomatoes to cook a little, while I keep adding the other ingredients.
When everything is properly cooked and tasty, I pour in my parboiled rice to the sauce, and add some water to soften it.
This is all I have to do when fixing jollof rice. It's as simple as this to prepare. If you have your beef or fish to make it more nutritious, it's very okay to add it to this sumptuous meal.

IMG_20230604_143923_276~2.jpg
I and my jollof rice

For me, I draw the curtains here as I wait patiently for it to cook and dish.

Rice is rich in carbohydrates, thus good to have it at anytime of the day. But i'd advise one to have it for breakfast or lunch, so as to digest well before going to bed.

Would like to invite @bela90, @anthony002 and @spanky-dollar to take part in this contest.

Special mention
@steemkidss
@coolj2
@ngoenyi
@okere-blessing

Sort:  
 last year 

Hello @yhudy, thank you for publishing your wonderful contest in our community. Your presentation is excellent. Looks like a very spicy dish. It's a wonderful arrangement. But it's a pity that your post is not tagged. And your vote csl has decreased. Hope you will be active on steemit.

Club Status#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI[ ? ] ( 4.55 % self, 22 upvotes, 16 accounts, last 7d )
Score (quality/rules)8/10
Verification date:2023-06-07
i invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here
 last year 

Thanks for the evaluation Ma.
I will try to improve on the platform.

 last year 

Thank you good friend for inviting me. You must be a good cook at your home. I like the face of your delicious rice. Good luck to you.

 last year 

Thank you.

 last year 

The rice is so enticing and the procedure is very simple. Enjoy your delicious rice meal and thanks for the invitation.

 last year 

Thanks ma'am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70759.18
ETH 3812.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44