Food challenge contest week #64|| For kids and parents| Teach The Kids/Kids Food Challenge| share Your Food Diary With Us

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year (edited)

IMG_20230510_145842_509~2.jpg
Fresh okro

Hello steemians. How are we all doing today? Hope great. I'd be participating in today's contest of #food challenge organised by steemkidss... And I would like us to go through this cooking together.

Today, I'd be teaching us how to make okro and melon soup. It's actually one of my favourites, so I took my time to prepare this delicacy.

The first thing to do is to get all the ingredients there is to get for this food. So I went to the market for my okro, melon(grounded), crayfish, stockfish, fish, cowskin, periwinkle and other things with me here.


On returning, I started by washing and cutting my okro, followed by washing my periwinkle. Everything that needs to be washed is what I take care of diligently so I won't have to deal or fight with sand when it's time to enjoy my meal.

When this is done, I boil water for my garri, have it turned and put it aside, covered though. Then I move straight to parboiling my beef, periwinkle, stockfish and cowskin. I would add a little salt and maggi to give it some taste. When it's properly done and soft, I would add a little water to the pot again and put some vegetable oil in the pot. I want the oil to boil alongside with the water and get mixed. When this is achieved, I would put my already cut okro in the pot, followed by the melon I got from the market. At this point, I will not cover the pot again, to make it draw.

IMG_20230510_162411_267~2.jpg
okro soup and garri ready to be served

I would allow it to steam for like 5-6 minutes before adding my fish and the ingredients to the soup. When everything tastes okay, it's left for me to add my aduza leaves. But if you don't have it don't fret, you can add any vegetables of your choice that'd suit well with you soup.


My soup is ready now and set to be served.

We can have okro or draw soup at anytime, but it's most enjoyable in the afternoon.

Also you can choose to have it with fufu, garri or semolina. So i have garri to strat the journey here.

It has no side effects and very healthy fir the body.
Some of the benefits found in okro is that it refuces the risk of cancer, stroke, heart disease, and e Be n ric huh in vitamin A and C.

Hope you have learnt something today.
Enjoy your okro soup.

IMG_20230510_162425_184~2.jpg
me and my okro soup


Would like to invite @anthony002, @bela90 and @okere-blessing for this contest.

Sort:  
 last year 

Delicious meal you have cook friend. I like okro soup also. Best of luck to you.

 last year 

Thanks

 last year 

Am interested in the cowskin and periwinkle. Please send it through ware bill, I will be waiting to receive it.

Thank for the simple steps you share in cooking okro and melon soup. Best luck friend.

 last year 

I will😆
Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67002.47
ETH 3459.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65