Food challenge contest week #47|| For kids and parents| Teach The Kids/Kids Food Challenge| share Your Food Diary With Us

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians. Hope you're doing great. Cooking is something I like doing and I'll be sharing with you how to cook fresh and delicious bitterleaf soup, also known as Egusi soup. So sit back, and let's get this done.

IMG_20221217_181205_289.jpg
Look of my bitterleaf soup

First, we'll look at the ingredients we need for the preparation of the soup.

Ingredients
Palm oil
Crayfish
Pepper
Salt
Maggi
Melon
Fish
Stock fish
Beef
Cowskin
Also,
Your bitterleaf and Waterleaves should be available.

To start with, I'll need a grater to wash my bitterleaf which is the longest process in fixing this soup. This is to minimize, but not totally eliminate the bitterness from the leaves. I like it this way, but some people prefer to wash off all the bitterness which has little or no health benefits left in the soup.
Again, a number of people also prefer to pound the leaves using their mortar and pestle, but so as not to make it have a black look after pounding in the name of washing the leaves, I like to grate it.
I will change the water for about 3-4times to make sure it's well washed.
When I'm through with this, I'll cut my Waterleaves that will also be needed in the latter process.

IMG_20221217_173442_327.jpg
Waterleaves

Next is to steam my beef, cowskin and stockfish to soften it. While steaming the water hear to be enough to cook the soup as I won't be adding another water.

IMG_20221217_171437_601~2.jpg

IMG_20221217_171902_048~2.jpg

IMG_20221217_171502_989~2.jpg

When everything is soft enough, I will pour in my already cut waterleaves and pour in the palm oil.
After 3-5mins when it starts boiling, I can put my ingredients and stir, before adding my melon.

IMG_20221217_174412_589~2.jpg

I'll then cover my pot and leave it for 5 mins to cook before putting my fish, since I don't like overcooked fish, and cover it again for another 3mins.
The final stage is where I'll put my bitterleaf which I'd first have to slice it on my chopping board to have it in tiny bits. After putting my bitterleaf, I'll bring it down and stir before dishing out.
IMG_20221217_175057_495~2.jpg

You can have this with garri, fufu or semolina.

IMG_20221217_180655_273~2.jpg
Egusi and garri

You can have this for lunch, or early dinner.
Bitterleaf has its nutritional values which can aid in lowering cancer risk and other benefits.
Hope you enjoyed reading through this post. Try this soup and you'll love it.
Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
Club Status#newcomer
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI[ ? ] ( 0.00 % self, 0 upvotes, 0 accounts)
Verification date:2022-12-27
MOD's Observations/suggestions
  • Please increase your CSI with support another post and comments, you never vote another person, this CSI is very necessary dear ...
  • You have serve a good recipe, thank you for your sharing with us, and good lucky in this challenge..👍
We invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here
 2 years ago 

Thanks.
Well do.

"

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator09.

Curated By - @ngoenyi
Curation Team - Team Newcomer
."
C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iQCSedsGaDyEdcsTpYR8cbN72cwBGdiTbX9B8gvoRUCsomvqwooqWqyfAFUzA1Cbkf7VHS1bFeW.png

 2 years ago 

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49