Food challenge contest week #95 || For kids and parents || How to prepare Nigerian jellof rice.

in Steem Kids & Parents7 months ago

IMG_20240109_143447.jpg

Good day everyone, I want to first of all thank @steemkidss for this contest, I just love it, it makes up explore our cooking skills, and also learn how to cook new food, when we read other's post. Today I will be sharing with you how I made my own Nigerian Jellof Rice, the steps are simple, so just follow up.

INGREDIENTS

  • 10 cups of rice.
  • Tomatoes.
  • groundnut oil.
  • onions.
  • Spices (pepper, salt, Maggi etc).
  • dry fish.
Procedure
After I had gotten my ingredients ready, I proceeded to parboiled my rice for like 10 minutes, and then I drained the water and keep it one side, although people have different methods of parboiling rice, some boil water then when it boils they sock the rice in the water and keep for like 5 minutes then rinse off, me I boil the rice with the water for 10 minutes and rinse it oo, it works both ways tho.
PXL_20240108_124112147.jpg
  • I then kept a dry pot on fire, after the out was drained of water, I added my oil.

I let the oil heat up for a while, then I added small salt to the oil, after that I went in with my onions. I cooked the onions for about 5 minutes, then I went in with my tomatoes. For this one I let the tomatoes heat for up to 20 minutes, this is so that it will cook well, and do away with its sour taste, so it doesn't spoil your meal. After the tomatoes was ready, I went in with my pepper, salt and other spices then spir for another 5 minutes to get them to mix well.

PXL_20240108_125147876.jpgAdding onions to the hot oilPXL_20240108_130255979.jpgAdding the spices
  • After the whole thing had cooked well, I added a large amount of water, of course one that will cover the rice.
PXL_20240108_130645287.jpg

Then I added my rice, after adding my rice, I still had to taste of the spices and everything were okay, it wasn't so I added extra spices, then I cover my pot for the rice to dry, now at this point i had to use my wooden spoon to mix everything cause at times the water usually comes up, and leaves the rice under to burn.

Just before the water dries up entirely, I went in with the dry fish, I didn't put this at the beginning so that it wont get too socked up and soft, the whole idea is so that you can enjoy the fish well, no fish is enjoyed if it's too soft. And the water finally dried up, food is ready.

IMG_20240109_143447.jpgfood is ready

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, and you learnt something as well. i invite @zekanem, @comfortpeter and @basil20 to drop a comment and join this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 7 months ago 

Wow!

You have prepared a beautiful meal. From the look i can tell it's really going to taste great.

I like the way explained tje steps.

I wish you the best in this contest.

Thanks so much, for reading my blog
It is really tasty 😋, wish I could share with you dear☺️.

 7 months ago 

You sure say this food go sweet so😒. Thank you for sharing how to prepare Nigerian jollof rice, I will practice it the way you described in your post. I hope it will come out beautiful and delicious, if not I'll come for you lol.
I wish you luck in the contest baby.

Lol
It's the best food you will eat this year 😁
You can make it and post it here, let me see what yours will look like😂

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through Curation Team#2. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.

Curated by : @malikusman1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70