Food challenge contest week #90|| For kids and parents| Teach The Kids/Kids Food Challenge| Preparing Okra Soup

20231205_214205_0000.png
edited with canva

Hello steemians,

I believe we had a peaceful night rest and the day is going well, It's a beautiful day so let's make it memorable. I will be participating in this unique contest organized by @steemkidss, it's really a don't miss contest for me.

The Meal I Am Preparing

IMG_20231205_104357_090.jpg
okra (lady finger)

Today, I'll be showing everyone here how to prepare one of my country's sweet delicacy known as Okra soup.

Okra otherwise known as lady finger is a vegetable which is rich in fiber, calcium, low in calories, helps in regulating blood in our body and a very good source of vitamins among other amazing benefits. It is very affordable and is not time consuming to prepare.

It can be eaten with rice, garri, semovita, wheat, fufu or plaintain and there is no restriction as to the time of the day it should be eaten, but preferably it should be taken as lunch.

Ingredients Used

The ingredients I used for my okra soup are:

• Okra

• Chicken

• Canda (cow skin)

• Uziza leaf

• Crayfish

• Perewinkle

• Pepper

• Onions

• Maggi seasoning cube

• Palm Oil

• Salt

Steps In Preparation

IMG_20231205_113915_398~2.jpg

First of all, I washed my okra and uziza leaf to make it clean and free from germs and then sliced them into little pieces.

Thereafter, I washed my Perewinkle, dressed my Canda (cow skin) and chicken very well, washed them thoroughly to ensure that I felt no sand, then I cut my Canda and chicken into my desired size.

img_1701819540606.jpg

I turned my stock inside the pot and added my pepper, onions, salt and seasoning cubes stirred it and then placed it on fire without adding water, as it will always produce that on its own (stock water) then allowed it to steem on low heat for some minutes.

IMG_20231205_121636_042.jpg

There are basically two methods I do use in preparing my okra and today I decided to use the frying method.

After I had steemed my stocks, I placed another pot on the fire, allowed it to dry before adding my palm oil, I allowed the palm oil to heat for a while and now added my onions before turning my okra inside and gave it a proper stir.

img_1701820818874.jpg

I allowed my okra to cook for sometime then turned my stock in before adding a little water. I proceeded to add crayfish, extra maggi and salt then gave it a stir to give my soup that delicious taste.

IMG_20231205_122509_186~2.jpg

Thereafter I added my uzuza leaf and onions to give it that amazing scent, stirred it then tasted it to see if everything was in it right proportion. I finally put off the fire and my soup is ready to be served.

img_1701855228698.jpg

Conclusion

IMG_20231206_091814_282.jpg

I recommend this soup for your satisfaction and trust me you will like it because, apart from the health benefits of taking it, it is also very delicious.

Thank You For Going Through My Post

Sort:  
Loading...
 7 months ago 

Hmm 😋 looking yummy , it's delicious and also nutritious lady finger is also my favourite vegetables in meals.

Wow, I'm glad it's your favorite too. Thank you so much for your lovely comment on my post

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 7 months ago (edited)

Its my pleasure dear 😊❤️🙌.

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For December 2023 Curated by - <@ashkhan>

Thank you so much for always motivating me to do more

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49