Weekly Drawing Challenge: Draw a Gorilla

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)

20220501_140249.jpg


C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iP4PXxMaPAf7rRWuBrUZNwh8jYYdg1gyf6QtxGmzXefsYepc2Q1gnyLpWUXjUHuxxk8aeRoWFQJ.webp

Hello, reader!

The African tropical forest is home to animals of different species. Since the environment is not limited to the metropolis and suburban areas, the government enact laws that protect these animals. A natural reserve is established and trained officials known as forest rangers look after this territory, arrest encroachers and protect the inhabitants from being hunted for food or skin by poachers. An example of this inhabitant is the gorilla. For this contest, I will give you a snippet of all the facts about this ape, thereafter, you will feed your eyes on the aesthetic picture I tried to capture on a piece of paper.

Larger than any other ape, the gorilla is stocky with thick black furs and broad shoulders. It is native to the forests of central Africa. Gorillas have long arms, are less erect and have ears smaller than that of chimpanzees. A common trait of the gorilla is knuckle-walking.

Most importantly, gorillas are herbivores in nature. Their vegetarian diet consists of bamboo shoots, fruits, stems and leafy plants. They eat all day, hence, they help balance the natural food chain. Also, this primates weigh about 200-250 pounds and are about 4 to 6 feet tall. That's tall!😳

What qualities does a gorilla possess?
Contrary to how people might perceive huge animals, the gorilla is not fierce but very friendly with humans, especially infants. It is said to be the only primate that has about 98% of human DNA. One intriguing characteristic of gorillas is that they live in troops which usually consist of 1-4 adult males called Silverbacks, juvenile males which are known as black backs, as well as, adult and young females.

Have you seen one before? If yes, where?
Not all Africans have seen a gorilla before and I'm one of those who make up the "indomie generation". However, I have learnt a lot about them from stories my dad told me of his visit to the zoo where he took the picture of the gorilla in the image below. The internet has been the best place to get educated too.

Are they important to man?
Yes, they are. They are usually hunted by poachers for food, their meat, trade and traditional medicines. But I'll suggest that the laws protecting animals should be observed because if these animals go extinct, man will have to face the consequences of his actions.

What do you like about steemit gorilla @the-gorilla?
I was curious when I saw this username. First, I thought that maybe it was a gorilla's account but then a gorilla has nothing to do with creating quality content on Steemit. Then I felt that maybe it was an account concerned with gorillas' welfare and security. A click on the username took me to the blog which led me to a new experience. While perusing the first post that caught my attention, I got to learn of the importance of engagement and made a vow to be more committed to this aspect of community growth. I got a personal inspiration too. Tried exploring some content on the blog. So far, I am grateful for that little insignificant click that gave me more ideas to ponder upon. I can't stop laughing at what I thought of when I saw the username for the first time.

Below is a sketch of a REAL gorilla. LOL

Materials

  • A4 paper
  • Pencil
  • Ruler
  • Eraser
  • An old Picture

Steps:

  • First, I drew a 2 x 2cm grid on my canvas and the picture.
  • Next I traced the image using the grid on the photo as a guide.
  • When I was done, I shaded the dark areas first and finally the light areas.
IMG_29042022_180249_(520_x_720_pixel).jpg
IMG_29042022_180350_(520_x_720_pixel).jpg
IMG_29042022_183605_(520_x_720_pixel).jpg
20220501_140249.jpg

This way, drawing a bigger size of this picture wasn't difficult. How do you rate my drawing, Steemians?😊


C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iP4PXxMaPAf7rRWuBrUZNwh8jYYdg1gyf6QtxGmzXefsYepc2Q1gnyLpWUXjUHuxxk8aeRoWFQJ.webp

20220428_081559.png

Invitees:
@liafatnet
@jakoutdoor
@deseer

About Me|Contest by @eliany

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iP4PXxMaPAf7rRWuBrUZNwh8jYYdg1gyf6QtxGmzXefsYepc2Q1gnyLpWUXjUHuxxk8aeRoWFQJ.webp

Sort:  

I can't stop laughing at what I thought of when I saw the username for the first time.

GorillaShowerGIF.gif

 2 years ago 

😂😂😂😂

 2 years ago 

it looks like this gorilla is a very scary animal, from the characteristics you describe it looks like this animal is very scary .... but we in Indonesia, especially the province of aceh this gorilla is very difficult to find

 2 years ago 

Don't be scared. People who have seen them claim that they are friendly, love putting up stunts and highly intelligent. 😊

Your drawing is very nice, I didn't know you have this beautiful drawing skill, although I'm not underestimating you, haha. It's very nice and your description of the gorilla is excellent. I wish you success in your entry:

Delegation| Yes
Steemexclusive| yes
Plagiarism|no
Voting bot|no
Club status|5050
Beneficiary|Yes

 2 years ago 

It was fun playing with my pencil again. I can feel my spirit rejuvenating again😂

 2 years ago 

How beautifully you define your thoughts about steemit gorilla 😂😂😂

Your gorilla is really good you have great drawing skills.

 2 years ago 

I couldn't help thinking that way. Too much of home videos though🤦🏽‍♀️😂

Thank you for your compliment. It's been awhile since I played with a pencil. 😌

Congratulations 🎊

Your post has been upvoted by The PERFECT seven - Arts Team member @eliany using steemcurator04 account, your efforts is appreciated keep making quality art posts, using #art

Darby_and_shire_marketing_inc._1-3.png

 2 years ago 

Amazing!
Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58971.18
ETH 3225.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29