Week 6-" Your Story , Your Laughter ( Let's make everyone happy🐧🐧) "

in Steem Kids & Parents2 months ago

pexels-vlada-karpovich-7365303.jpg
Photo by Vlada Karpovich

My boss had requested that I accompany him to Lagos for a business tour which I accepted. We were to travel with Ibom Air and I was super excited given that it was going to be my first flight experience.

My last trips to Lagos were by land. They usually lasted for 10-12 hours. Oftentimes, I would fall asleep on the bus or end up with back sores due to sitting fixed for so long. I dreaded this mode of transportation.

Not only was it unsafe, but it also exposed one to a lot of risk. For instance, getting your properties stolen. So before I slipped into the land of Nod, I would grab my phone very tight or hid it inside my inner chamber (if you understand what this means) to avoid any story that ruptures the liver.

People who travel by land can relate to this experience.

Throughout that week after receiving the news, I felt like I had arrived. In Nigerian parlance, “I don blow”. I packed, unpacked then repacked everything I'd need.

My clothes, shoes and cosmetics suffered the most during that period. I thought of the food I would eat while on board. It would be nothing compared to the “wonderful” Egusi soup I bought during my last trip to Lagos. The experience I had after eating that wonderful meal made me wish that buses had toilets, or latrines.

Our flight was scheduled for 16:00. By 5:15 AM, I was already dressed so I fiddled with my phone until my boss’ driver came to pick me. I was given the required documents to keep and briefed on everything I needed to know.

On reaching my boss’ house, I stepped out to greet his wife who was heading out for a meeting. We strolled back towards the car. We were still chatting when their housekeeper opened the backseat to put my boss’ briefcase.

Then my boss’ wife asked where my bag was and I replied that it was in the boot.

“Boot?”

Innocently, I opened the boot to show her the bags. She reacted by asking,
“Ukpono, da ise! Akono ekpad ifang ke etuk isaŋ ami?” (Ukpono, wait first. How many bags did you pack for this small trip?”)

“Just three small bags,” I replied.

Both the housekeeper and my boss’ wife started laughing. I ended up traveling with one luggage at the end of the day. My boss had bluntly said that I was free to carry the rest on my head if I still needed them.

Weeks later at the office, he made a comment about how most ladies love carrying luggages as if they were moving into their new husband's house.

I have never been so pained by a side remark.

Thank you @moyeon for this contest. I invite @ahbaz, @chiomzy810 and @bela90 to the next.
Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66