SEC-S11W1: The most embarrassing moment of my life as a kid

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year (edited)

Oh, no! (2).jpg

Designed with Canva

Hi, friend
There's nothing worse than having your clothes stained at a public gathering. It is nothing compared to tripping right in the middle of a nuptial dance. But both events happened to me when I was only a kid. I will share these experiences so you can determine which is the most embarrassing.


Experience 1

My first menstrual flow came right at my school principal's office. I was only 10 and had been invited to his office for a briefing. There was an upcoming essay so I and a few other brilliant students were selected to represent the school. I never knew Aunt Flo came visiting until a teacher pulled me aside when I was leaving and asked if I had any sanitary pads in my bag. No one needed to tell me that I WAS STAINED.

I felt the ground open up that minute to swallow me.

I thought of the class jester—a boy—who enjoyed making fun of everyone. I thought of the juniors who looked up to me as their role model. I thought of how my wet dress will spill my secret to everyone. I wanted to go home so badly that I didn't realise when I started crying.

Experience 2

The next was when I joined my aunty's wedding train as a flower girl. My outfit was a beautiful long lemon princess gown which I rocked with a lovely white pair of blocked-heeled shoes.

As an aside, heeled shoes were/are my favourite, the same way I love dancing to Naija jazz. So when the compère asked the couples to dance, I leapt from my chair and started displaying trending dance moves. I got intoxicated at a point and something told me to show the world what I've got.

The reception venue was built like a theatre. The proscenium stage was below and you needed to walk down fleet of steps to get to it. But trust me, I ran down instead. On getting to the last step, I lost my balance and tripped. I was this close to hitting the bride but her maid of honour caught me right on time. I cried…I crode…I crew. Even the Bobo the usher offered me could not appease me. I was ashamed of myself and vexed that I couldn't show the guests my pro azonto dance skill.

I never deserved what happened neither did anyone. But I was naive and just a victim of circumstance. However, every experience comes with lessons.

LESSONS
1. Dealing with her first flow
  • Accept that it is a natural phenomenon and educate your boys and girls before now.
  • Prepare your kids mentally, psychologically and materially. At 8 every girl should have a little purse where she puts a spare pad in either for herself or others. I remember giving my first pads to my cousin who came to visit but had none on her.
  • Embrace your girl and never ridicule her when stained. (I stressed this because a grownup boy found it funny shaming a girl online for being stained.)
  • Talk about menstruation confidently with your kids. It's not a virus so it shouldn't be treated like one.
2. Walking gracefully on heels
  • When walking down the stairs, land on both toes and soles at the same time.
  • When walking up the stairs, place your toes first before your sole.

The first step would have helped prevent that fall.

I still cringe when I think about them though and almost did not write this…because I'm still darn embarrassed at the thought of everything, particularly the first experience. Still, I have shared how these events happened because there is a lesson for everyone. Which of these did you feel was the most embarrassing?


Special invitation to @yhudy @chiomzy810 @joymm

Sort:  
 last year 

Almost every lady has had the first experience.
But the second, I'm sorry I can't just stop laughing. But your lessons are so good. To be honest, I just learned from your article how to walk down the stairs.
Wish you the very best, my friend.

Just followed you on Twitter, you can follow back.

 last year 

I'll follow back when I log into the app. I'm glad that you could learn something from my experiences.

 last year 

Saludos amiga

Son dos situaciones que has vivido dónde la vergüenza se ha hecho presente hay cosas que las mujeres pasan que son realmente incómodas y muy estresantes para ustedes pero no es su responsabilidad son cosas que pasan y pasan mucho más seguido de lo que se pudiera creer

Bendiciones y buena suerte con tu participación

 last year 

Thank you for the kind words.

 last year 

Thank you for publishing an article in the Steem Kids & Parent community today. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

CriteriaRemark
Verified User
#steemexclusive
Plagiarism Free
AI Free
Bot Free
#burnsteem25
#clubClub75
Grade9/10
Review Date29/07/2023

MODs Comment/Recommendation: so sorry about your embarrassing situation, every girl used to feel ashamed when their period stains them, be it younger or older. I know your second experience and how it felt, sorry, the good thing is that your taking precautions. Success!

Remember to always share your post on Twitter. This POST LINK is a guide to that effect.

 last year 

Thank you for the kind words, Goodybest

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by @steemladies. The community where the Steemian ladies can be free to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.

Manually curated by patjewell for Steem For Ladies


IMG_20221128_163104.jpg

Steem For Ladies

 last year 

Thank you, Steemladies community. Thank you for being a safe place for Steemian ladies to express themselves, be creative, learn from each other, and give support to their fellow lady Steemians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67163.45
ETH 2666.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70