You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday – I spy with my little eye – Mini contest (9)

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

Worcester...

In Germany it is mostly called "Worcestersauce". Wikipedia says "Worcestershiresauce", but this sounds not familiar to me.

Don't know who suggested "Dresdener Art". Never heard of it! From the meaning of the words, it just would be some kind or variation out of the city of Dresden. But while Dresden is famous for "Dresdener Stollen" (a special Christmas cake), there is nothing to say about Worcestersauce from there.

Worcestershire is the name of a county, and so I was astonished to read that the county's name also is used to name the sauce without the word "sauce".

Gy-Nguang and many other "imitates" include Soya - which is NOT part of the original recipe!

;-)

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

And that my friend is how we all learn!!

Now moving away from the sauces...
Dresden - We've got stamps from Dresden. One day I will have the courage to sort out all the stamps.
My uncle was from Germany and there are stamps dating back from the early 1900's

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59218.43
ETH 2534.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44