STEEMKIDS COMMUNITY WEEKLY CONTEST #6|| MY WORST CHILDHOOD CHORES

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

images (25).jpeg
source

Growing up as kids, all we ever wanted was to sit around, watch cartoons, go on outings, play with friends, get spoiled with a bunch of junk and basically just live our lives without having to worry about anything else in the world. Our parents were left to do all the worrying about everything concerning our general wellbeing. We all hated having to do chores as kids and even if we had to, we preferred certain chores over others.

3 of my worst childhood chores
The chores I often frowned at were;

  • Sweeping- I hated having to do this because sweeping required me to bend throughout the course of the activity and also, we used rugs at the time, so it was even more difficult to get dirt off the ground. You needed to put in extra effort to ensure that dirt don't linger behind.
    P.s- Let me tell you one little secret, I'm not proud of this though. Whenever I felt too tired or lazy to do the sweeping, I just swept all the dirt under the chairs. My mum never noticed, I recently told her about this and she just laughed it off...lol

  • Washing dishes- Doing this chore was like a punishment for me because I wasn't even tall enough to comfortably do the washing, I had to stand on a stool for a really long time till I was done. Stepping down that stool after doing the dishes was usually very agonizing cause I most times, couldn't even feel my legs due to the long hours of standing on a spot without proper circulation of blood around my legs. I also had to deal with scrubbing the back side of pots using an iron sponge which most times, hurt my delicate hands.

  • Cleaning the bathroom- This was another chore I despised so much because I had to do a lot of scrubbing to clean the bathtub properly, using this really huge brush and it was such a draining process because I had to apply force to produce a good job. I also hated the fact that I was cleaning a bathroom that wasn't used by myself alone, it irritated me a lot.

Who sends you to do them

It was mostly my mum, she had us all at least do something in the house, although we had a help who did a substantial share of the chores. My mum made sure we assisted, so that the bulk of the work wasn't solely on her alone. I was also sometimes bribed by the help who convinced me to take on some of her chores in exchange for puff puff and ice cream....lol. At least, she always kept to her promise.

Are they still your worst now?

I don't do those chores anymore because I now have younger siblings who do them. The baton has been passed over to them I guess😂
Although I still do my laundry which is really not much of a big deal because all I have to do is put the clothes in the washing machine to wash and then spin afterwards. But funny enough, I don't find plates washing difficult anymore, I could just plug in my earphones and play some music as I do them.

Would you encourage your kids to hate those chores?

No, I wouldn't, I feel like it's important to make children take on responsibilities from a young age. Although we also disliked doing them as kids, we still had to because our parents made sure we did. Therefore, we should in turn, imbibe this culture in our kids, as it would teach them the importance of hardwork and productiveness. Besides, you never can tell, my kids might actually enjoy doing those chores I hated, we're all different.

I want to say a big thank you to @steemkidss for the opportunity to participate in this contest. I hope you enjoyed reading.

I invite my friends @spyrex @alphafx @nore21 to participate and enjoy this contest, just as I did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97