Steemit Engagement Challenge S6/W2 - *Food Diary game (My daily food in pictures)


Photo_1669763709574_2.png
Cover Image Created using Poster Maker



Hello Steemians, it's another wonderful day, and today I'm so delighted to share with you all my food diary for the day "29/11/2022" and in pictures. We all know food is essential for everyone as it gives us nutrients needed for energy, and growth and makes our immune system healthy. Follow me as I share the foods I ate today with you all.

The foods I ate today are Bread and Margarine, Peppered catfish, Amala, ewedu, and soup. I will be discussing my reasons for choosing each meal, the nutritional information, and the category into which each food falls below.


My breakfast (Bread and Margarine)

Breakfast: Bread and Margarine


I did not prepare this meal and my reason for taking it was because I crave my favorite bread which is Justrite bread and leaving work a day before, I branched at Osun mall bakery to buy it and when I woke up I decided to eat it with margarine, I love using Devon King's Margarine as it can be used for cooking, baking and spreading and most importantly, it is cholesterol and trans-fat-free.

Health Benefit of Bread and Margarine

Bread contains vitamins like thiamine (Vit B1), and Niacin (Vit B3), with carbohydrate which is needed for energy and maintaining healthy skin while Margarine contains vitamin A and D which is helpful to keep eye, bone, teeth, and muscle healthy.

Furthermore, bread is made from flour, sugar, yeast, milk, salt, oil, egg, and water. The price of my bread and margarine is listed below:

BreakfastPrice in Naira (#)Price in Steem
Bread7005.3
Margarine4003.1
Total11008.4



My Lunch (Peppered Catfish)

Lunch: Peppered Catfish

I ate peppered catfish as my lunch, catfish is a very nutritious meal with many health benefits, I love eating catfish cooked with different recipes e.g catfish pepper soup, peppered catfish, and barbecue catfish, but this afternoon I just felt like eating peppered catfish.

Health Benefits of Peppered Catfish

Catfish is a low calories food that contains protein, vitamin B12, a mineral which is selenium, and healthy fat such as Omega 3 and Omega 6 fatty acids. All these nutrients are of health benefits and such benefits are:

  • Promoting growth of cells and tissues.

  • Good for muscle, prevent heart disease, stroke, and arthritis.

  • Inhibiting blood clot and Improves brain function.

  • Enhancing Immune system.

  • Regulate metabolism.

  • I prepared the peppered catfish myself and the cost involved in the preparation and the ingredients used are listed below.

    IngredientPrice in NairaPrice in Steem
    Catfish (1 kg)150011.5
    Scotch bonnet pepper1000.75
    Vegetable Oil3002.3
    Seasoning, Onions, and salt1000.75
    Total200015.3


    IMG_20221129_140747_245.jpg
    Selfie of myself with my peppered catfish

    Preparation:
    The catfish was thoroughly washed with water. I rubbed salt all over the fish and leave for 10 minutes, after that I rinsed again and rubbed it with the desired salt and seasoning, then put it in a drainer for the water to dry for like 5 minutes before rubbing little flour on the fish to dry the remaining water and avoid the fish being sticky or the scattering flesh while frying.

    I placed my frying pan on fire, add vegetable oil and when the oil was hot enough I added my catfish, after 10 minutes I turned the fish upside such that the upper other side got fried too.

    While waiting for the fish to be fried, I blended the scotch bonnet with onions and set it aside.

    After it got fried, I removed it from the oil, placed another pan on fire, add little oil, followed by the blended pepper and onion, put seasoning and small salt then leave for 5 minutes.

    I added my fried catfish to the pepper stew on fire, stir properly and leave it to cook for 3 minutes. Then my peppered catfish is ready to be served.



    IMG_20221129_201315_681.jpg
    My dinner meal of amala, ewedu and titus soup

    Dinner: Amala, Ewedu, and Soup

    Amala, ewedu, and soup is a local delicious meal that is very popular among Yoruba People. It is made from Elubo (Yam flour) which has so many benefits it does to the body such as:

  • Amala is rich in fiber which helps reduce low-density lipoprotein and improves heart condition.

  • It helps gives energy and regulate blood glucose.

  • It aids digestion and prevents constipation.

  • Improve the immune system and fight against infection.

  • It is a very good antioxidant that helps reduce the risk of colon cancer and stomach inflammation.

  • Ewedu (Jute leaf)

    Jute leaf is a leafy vegetable that is packed with many nutritional values which are helpful to the body. The Health Benefits of jute leaves are:

  • It contains vitamin K which helps prevent internal bleeding.

  • it is rich in calcium which makes it good for tooth, gum, and bone health.

  • Good for eyesight.

  • Help in fighting flu.

  • It reduces the chances of cervical, lungs, and colon cancer.

  • Titus Soup

    The Soup consists of scotch bonnet, bell pepper, tomatoes, oil, fish, seasoning, and salt. It has health benefits as well which are:

  • It is good for the skin, hair, heart, and strong bone and prevents cancer.

  • Improve blood pressure and immune system

  • Prevent diabetes.

  • Reduce inflammation.

  • I prepared my dinner by myself and the amount spent while cooking my dinner is listed below:

    IngredientsPrice in Naira (#)Price in Steem
    Yam flour4003.1
    Jute leaf (Ewedu) and Locust beans1501.1
    Tomatoes2001.5
    Scotch bonnet1000.75
    Bell pepper1000.75
    Onions1000.75
    Titus Fish10007.6
    Oil, Seasoning, and Salt4003.1
    Total245018.7


    Preparation:
    Amala
    Some quantity of water in the pot was placed on fire and allowed to boil.

    The yam flour was sieved to remove dirt.

    When the water was boiled, the yam flour was added and turned with a wooden kitchen roller for a while, I added little water and heated it for 4 minutes for the flour to cook properly, then turn again till it got firm and smooth. The amala is ready to be served.

    Ewedu (Jute leaves)

    I detached the leaf from its stem and rinsed the leaf thoroughly, I boiled the moderate water needed for it, and after boiling I added the jute leave into it and allow it to boil for a while till it get soft and blend using a blender, then my jute leaves draw soup is ready.

    Titus Pepper Soup

    I blended my scotch bonnet, bell pepper, tomatoes, and onion and put them aside.

    After that, I rinsed and boiled my fish. Placed a pot on the fire, after it dried, I added oil, and allow it to stay for 5 minutes, then I added the pepper, seasoning, and salt and leave it for another 5 minutes.

    After that, I added my fish to it and till it was properly cooked.


    Conclusion

    These are my three courses of the meal of the day and I enjoyed myself while eating the meals, I felt happy for being healthy to eat and grateful to God for his provision over my life. Thank you for reading.


    I invite @jasminemary @josepha and @sahmie to participate in this contest.
    Sort:  
     2 years ago 
    Club Status#club5050
    Steem Exclusive
    Plagiarism Free
    BOT Free
    Voting CSI11.9
    Score (quality/rules)9.5/10
    Verification date:2022-11-30
    MOD's Observations/suggestionsThank you @temitopef for joining thr contest in our community today. You have presented a detail writeup on the topic the food diary game. You talked about the preparation and the coat price both in Naira and its equivalent in steem. I wish you success in this contest my friend.

    Thanks for verifying my post.

     2 years ago 

    Waooh, I am carried away by your food, especially the amala, ewedu, and soup. All the meals you ate look very yummy. Indeed, you really know how to cook. Best of luck to you in the contest in which you have participated and in every area of your life.

    Amen, Thank you for the wishes friend

     2 years ago 

    Wow you really enjoyed your self. I wish to taste this ewedu with amala one day.

    Amala and ewedu is a very delicious meal that once you taste it, you will fall in love with it.

    TEAM 3

    Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator06. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
    Curated by : @ngoenyi

    Picsart_22-11-02_05-04-00-944.jpg

    Thanks for your support on my post.

    Aah this catfish dey enter my eyes oo. I also love amala for it's softness! Since I moved to Lagos state, Amala has been added to one of my best meals.

    Your picture diary looks so succulent. Thanks for sharing

    Amala softness is a jam to what makes people like it, I'm happy to hear you have liked eating amala since you moved to Lagos, thank you for engaging on my post sis.

    You are always welcome

    Choiii. See cat fish. I'm hungry already. It looks very nutritious.

    😆😆😆, thanks for reading.

    Catfish is very good for health. I also like Catfish. I usually eat catfish with uduk rice or white rice. Good luck for the contest. I have also participated in this contest.
    🥰🥰🥰

     2 years ago (edited)

    Waooh I am now tasty by your delicious meal. I have heard so much about Amala, Ewedu, and Soup, which I am going crazy about it. I heard it's very delicious. You have presented a nice post. Best of luck to you.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.19
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.029
    BTC 63316.74
    ETH 2581.53
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.79