A STORY ABOUT MYSELF

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)

20221118_100417_0000.png
Image edited on Canva

Hello to everyone in this great community today. I welcome you all to a beautiful day known as friday which is the start of the week end here in Nigeria. It is a bright morning, and as such, I welcome you all to yet another engagement contest that has been set in this community by a reputable MOD known as @goodybest.

It is an engagement contest that has been titled A story about myself. This kind of contest brings about originality in the steemit platform. I beckon on you all to relax and enjoy the ride as I drop my entry.



TELL US ABOUT YOURSELF?

I am Solomon Israel by name. I hail from Kogi state, olamaboro local government in Nigeria. I am the last among four siblings. I am a graduate from the federal college of education Zaria, and I am currently running my degree program. I am a 300level student of Ahmadu bello university zaria.

IMG_20200405_123508_2.jpgFB_IMG_1560290964347.jpg

I come from a middle class family. My dad was a policeman before he passed away and my mum is a trader. Life has not been easy on us when I lost my dad at a tender age. I was still in high school when my dad was battling with an illness called the liver cirrhosis.

It affected his liver to the point that my dad was becoming too weak to stand by himself, his body systems began to fail him and eventually, my dad stopped working.

He was often carried like a baby to certain places such as the hospital, the rest room and so on because he could not walk anymore. There was no funds for me to continue my education.

He passed away, leaving nothing for us to continue life with. After the burial, I could not continue my education because we lack money, and so I began to acquire a skill. It got to a point where I could no longer get a things for myself and so I opted out to go in search for a paying job.

Screenshot_20220628-090615_Facebook~2.jpgScreenshot_20220628-091355_Facebook.jpg

I hawked under the hot sun almost every day I was becoming darker and I got emaciated so fast. I couldn't rest because I was looking for money not because of just myself but mostly my mother.

Sometimes, I weep and had different taught to go and steal because I was getting tired, but my mum always encourage me to trust in God and never to think of engaging in negative things that are not worthy.

And so I got a job and I started managing, when all my friends would be in school, I will be out there working in other to support my family to put food on the table for us to eat. I barely put on nice things.

I could remember vividly, during a Christmas celebration I had no money to buy new cloths for myself, and there was no one to help out. That was how I managed to gather damaged iron, aluminium, and copper objects and sold them before I could manage to get a second grade shirt for myself.

FB_IMG_1637025240387.jpgIMG_20210111_162000_872.jpg

sometimes, I come back from work and there will be no dinner because of lack of funds, and that is how I would take garri and pass the night, waiting for the next morning to start another day.

Life was really hard when I was growing up, I couldn't say much because every time I think of that, I always cry. But thank God the story is quite different today.

My mum's teachings have paid off, I managed to graduate from a federal college of education, and today, I am currently running my degree program and not just that, today, I am a shop owner.

IMG_20200405_123357_9.jpgFB_IMG_1554546492532.jpg20220324_144241.jpg

Life has actually turn around for me, I am contented with what God has given me and my arms are still opened to more blessings from him. He has helped me to a great extent, I can now take care of my lovely mum.

WHAT ARE THOSE THINGS THAT BRINGS YOU DOWN SOMETIMES?

Well, there are things that often way me down when I think them through.

There are times that the burden will be too much on me to bear, school is demanding and as such, I normally run out of money and when that happens, there would be no one to reach out to. I do not tell my mum about my school challenges because I've been the one supporting her.

So whenever I am in lack I do not tell her at all so that she doesn't get worried sick about me.

Also I have this cousins that are doing very well. These are people who my dad stood up for when he was alive, he made sure that those people are always okay. Especially their wedding ceremonies, I know how hard my dad contributed far beyond what their biological parent did.

But now that the man is no more, they careless about his children and pretend as if we do not exist in this world. That is also the major thing that often way we down.

But when I realize that my help doesn't come from a man but it only comes from God, I will summon courage and stand up to my feet. When I realized that God has been my sustainer and provided, I will quickly get up to my feet and cheer myself up.

WHAT KEEPS YOU GOING AND WHAT MESSAGE DO YOU HAVE FOR US?

The two solid factors that often get me going is God and my mother. Whenever I am down and feels nothing is working, amidst the situation, God always come through for me. Ever since I lost my dad, He has been my sufficiency and my great provided, with him and in him, I find strength to keep pushing on.

my mum stand as a symbol of encouragement. Her existence alone is a reason for why I should keep pushing on. I want to give her the life that my dad wasn't opportune to give her. She has labored so well, and now, I am currently working so hard to always put smile on her face.

FB_IMG_1554546639030.jpg20220417_113930.jpg

My message for you all is never to give up. No matter the challenges, keep trusting the process, believe in yourself and in God, trust your heart and let fate decide and God will definitely hear your cry and come through for you.



CONCLUSION

Thank you all for your time and for going through my article today. I want to thank @goodybest for coming up with such an amazing theme for this contest, it was worth my time.

I will like to invite @jenny281, @skilocy, and @v-brainer to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Your story filled my heart with tears. It was really very difficult time in your life, when you have searched job to assist your family. It was really your hardwork and support of your mother you did graduation and now you are possessor of shop. It was all due to your mom support.

Thank you so much for your kind comment on my article, it means a lot to me. Greetings!

 2 years ago 

I'm sorry about your Dad and everything your passing through, I believe its what is making you strong today. I wish you success!

Thank you so much ma for you good words, and thanks for stopping by. Greetings!

TEAM 5 CURATORS:

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags.

Curated by: @goodybest

Loading...

@solexybaba You are a real man. You have really gone through alot. I celebrate your bravery and hardwork. I enjoyed your entry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67