STEEMKIDSS CONTEST: MY WORST CHILDHOOD CHORES BY @SEANYBOO

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago

Hello Steemians! It's a privilege to be participating in this contest brought by @steemkidss which happens to be my first. I hope I get the best of it. So, I will be writing about three of my worst childhood house chores.

Back when I was still staying with my parents, the weekends were for house chores, especially Saturdays. My brother and I would wake up as early as 7 am to begin our house chores. I would sweep the sitting room, dining room, and the kitchen while he sweeps all the rooms which was the major house chore. There were still minor house chores like doing the dishes, cleaning the toilet, cleaning out the fridge, doing the laundry and ironing, cutting the grasses around the house, and so on, most of which I never enjoyed.

First, I never enjoyed doing the dishes when I was younger because I always end up having to wash dishes used by everyone in the house which I find annoying and unfair. I hated washing the dishes and pots used to prepare something oily because it doesn't get clean until after two or three times. Also, whenever my parents use dishes, they usually leave little leftovers on the plate which gets all soggy after few minutes in the sink. After several minutes of doing the dishes, my fingers get all wet and pruney and become all itchy. Anyway, growing up, I have come to understand that doing the dishes is a chore that never ends because you eat and boom! you have dishes to wash so I have found ways of making it more enjoyable by listening to music or munching on my favorite snack.


images (1).jpeg

source

Again, another chore I hated was cleaning out the fridge because it always gets dirty, I don't seem to understand how. Back at home, our fridge gets dirty mainly because my sister never really finishes her food so she just covers it and places it in the fridge which in turn attracts little roaches from outside. These little roaches multiply quickly and leave their eggs lying around in the fridge. This irritates me because I hate insects. My parents created a roster for cleaning the fridge and it only included my brother and me because my sister was much younger then. We usually clean the fridge once a month and whenever it was my turn, I would begin by unloading the fridge and clean the parts one by one with detergent. After that, I will soak a foam in soap solution and begin to clean the interior of the fridge, and remove out any leftovers. I never enjoyed cleaning out the fridge because it is a tiring chore and it is time-consuming too.


images (2).jpeg

Source

Cutting the grasses around the house was something I always tried to escape from because the grasses just never seem to stop growing. My dad usually asks us to cut the grasses on weekends in the evening. And at this time of the day, I am just cooling off from other chores done in the morning by either playing games or watching a movie. To cut the grasses around the house, I begin with a machete after which I use a rake to pack all the grasses together and I use my hand to separate the grasses from the sand. By the time I am done with all these, I am already really tired and dirty, sometimes I just go off to sleep after taking a shower, not minding skipping dinner.


images (3).jpeg
Source

My mum is the one that sends my brother and me to do these chores and sometimes we just do it without being told to do so because my mum values that. But now that I am at the university, I only have to do a few of these chores and I find them more enjoyable now. Also, I have come to realize that being asked to do house chores was never meant to be a form of punishment for us but instead, a form of training and I appreciate my parents for that. Because of this, I will not encourage my kids to hate doing house chores but I will instead look for ways to make to make it fun for them.


Mum 20190527_164638.jpg A picture of my mum.

Well, despite how strenuous and time-consuming these house chores are, I have come to embrace the fact that house chores never end, now that makes it easier to enjoy doing many of the house chores I hated doing while I was younger. Now that I am at the university, I always enjoy ironing my clothes, cooking, sweeping, to mention a few. I will also like to invite @eloksjoseph @twizytoons @moses9624 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you for participating in this contest. Your entry is duly acknowledged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79