My Ways Of Improving My Family Health (HEALTH IS WEALTH)

in Steem Kids & Parents10 months ago

Hello guys

Is so nice to be here. This is actually my first time participating in a contest hosted by one of my mentors on steemit @goodybest. I’ve always loved your writing style!! So today, what’s required from us the participants is to “talk on ways we can improve our family health”. But, before I go ahead and start itemizing my points, I’ll like to invite @peerfaizan, @trtareq and @sajjadbd to be part of this contest.

Introduction

Everyday we hear stories of people who were either going to work, or came to bank to collect cash or went to gas station, just slump down and die without anything touching them. If it’s my country, Nigeria, you will hear things like “They have sent them evil charm from their father’s side”. but meanwhile the cause of their death is something that they could avoid. We need to learn to take care of ourselves. How long are we going to keep chasing money ignoring our health?? If we don’t give our body the necessary nutrients or exercise it requires, we’ll end up leaving our loved ones behind. So, is important we take necessary step to improve our health and wellbeing in order to live a fulfilling life.

You know the surprising thing about everything, taking care of our health is not as complicated as people or the internet has make us think. It’s quite the opposite. In fact, few of this strategy I’ll be listing here is simple and is something we can incorporate in our everyday lives. These straightforward measures can significantly contribute to a healthier, happier life.

Ways Of Improving Your Family Health

Like I promise earlier, i will be listing out the things I do to keep me healthy…

  • Eating a balanced diet with plenty of fruits and vegetables.

4460C75C-D736-4E7C-B125-F0E954C18156.jpeg

free pik

You see this particular one, we have been learning it since primary school about eating balance diet but you see my Nigeria people, out of all the balance diet, it seems carbohydrates is our favorite, ignoring the remaining classes of foods. If we’re not eating rice in different forms, we’re eating garri (dried cassava) in different forms. The small amount of protein we manage to eat is beans. Even the beans, not everyone like it. The remaining classes of food is for the rich people. Ask an average Nigeria person, when last they ate fruit salad, he can’t remember!! Me, I’m not an exception, I’m part of the people that carbohydrate want to grow on my head. ThankGod for the type of soups we eat down here in my country that has everything in it.😊😊. But on a serious note, eating a balanced diet with plenty of fruits and vegetables, will help reduce the risk of chronic diseases, for those that want to loose weight, this is your best remedy not “ketosis” that will be making you feel dizzy all the time. My sister tried it, she nearly fainted. It also help improve digestive systems and for the people who wants the best of skincare and remain forever young,The vitamins and antioxidants in these foods can lead to healthier skin, reducing the risk of skin issues and promoting a youthful appearance.

I can go on and on when it comes to the benefits of eating balanced diet and lots of fruits and vegetables but I’ve to stop here and go to my next point.

  • Regular exercise, such as walking or jogging.

706910AE-861D-41F9-8379-5ED3BDE4E237.jpeg

free pik

This one, I’m a pro in this. There’s no day I don’t do at least an hour walk and on weekends go to the gym in my backyard to do some weight lifting. Regular exercise, we always keep you fit, healthy and burn all those unnecessary calories hiding at the side of your tummy or muscles. Exercise keeps us looking good and much younger than your age. In Nigeria, average citizens are now forced to do some long walk exercise because of the hike in transport fare. Before this regime is over, I can bet my money that the whole citizens will be looking fit to take on the world!!🤪

  • Staying hydrated by drinking enough water

D55AFDD2-44C6-4A57-A03D-151D616C0490.jpeg

free pik

I saw on a WhatsApp group on the benefits of water once you wake up from sleep and after every meal. since then, it has been like a daily routine for me and so far I’ll say I hardly fall sick. Water makes up significant portions of our body and so is necessary we always stay hydrated because that same water is what controls our temperature, help in food digestion, removal of waste in the body and help our body fight against disease.

  • Getting adequate sleep and rest

FFC4E383-0E71-434A-B4B3-06A5EEC022DA.jpeg

free pik

I can’t over emphasize on the importance of sleep. All the workaholics, Forex and crypto traders, yahoo boys/girls, please that night sleep is very vital in your health. When we sleep that’s the only time the body shut down and repair every tissues and muscles in the body, you get enough energy and feeling fresh to start the new day ahead. It relaxes your brain as well. There are people who belongs to the category of “I will not sleep, until I become rich” because of the way the economy policies is biting hard on us but we should always have it at the back of your mind that prioritizing sleep and rest can lead to numerous long-term health benefits and contribute to a higher quality of life.

  • Avoiding smoking and limiting alcohol intake.

82AA1E82-97A8-4803-88C9-24C1C011B936.jpeg

free pik

It baffles me when people see on adverts and even on cigarettes packs that “smokers are liable to die young, yet they ignore the warnings and still go ahead to smoke. Smoking and excessive alcohol reduces life span by inflicting all manner of diseases like cancer, stroke, gum diseases and bad breath, damage liver, heart disease etc. The benefits to our health are too numerous to mention if you can avoid smoking and drinking.

  • Regular check-ups with your healthcare provider.

DA8C303C-7C54-4A5A-8AE5-4E9DA3F64276.jpeg

free pik

This is another one that Is not to common among the average Nigerians but is essential. Imagine, if we were doing regular checkups or government had made it free, believe me, the death rate will reduce. Diseases like cancers, lump in the breast, poor eyesight, even HIV will be detected early before it becomes full blown. As much as, things are not too rosy, even if is three times in a year, is important that we do this regularly check up for a better life.

  • Avoiding excessive sugar

F29850EC-417C-48AB-9404-702F98E81A63.jpeg

free pik

There are people who can’t stay a day without drinking Coca Cola or Fanta and Let me not forget the excessive carbohydrate intake as well causes diabetes and obesity. I know, no one’s wants to be obese? So, reducing the intake of sugar can help in managing our weight and regulate our blood level. Sugar reduction also boost our immune system and keep our blood pressure normal.

Conclusion

Bible have said in the scriptures,

Life and death are before you. Choose life, so you may live”

We all have the power of choose. So, make a choice to embrace the boundless benefits of a healthier and more vibrant lifestyle.

Cheers!!

Sort:  
 10 months ago 

Wow I didn't expect anything less from you. Water is life and it's important to health can't be overemphasized. Yes there's a saying that if you want to look 10 years younger than your age exercise and if you want to be 20 years older than your age don't exercise. Success!

 10 months ago 

Thanks ma.. I appreciate your review

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59316.00
ETH 2518.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43