Food challenge contest week #74|| For kids and parents| Teach The Kids/Kids Food Challenge| share Your Food Diary With Us

in Steem Kids & Parents10 months ago (edited)

IMG_20230725_174144-01.jpeg
Edited by using snapseed app

Hello guys,

I am @sandimal from Sri Lanka 🇱🇰. I hope you are all doing well. I'm fine too. Today I am participating on the
Food challenge contest week #74
. I am very happy to participate on this contest. So I would like to thank @steemkidss for taking us to this contest.
IMG_20230725_172723.jpg

Today I am going to tell you, how I made a bitter gourd curry in sri lankan style. Guys, as you all know bitter gourd is bitter in taste. Because of the bitter taste most of the people don't like to eat bitter gourd curry. So they adapted to eat bitter gourd mixed in salads, fried bitter gourd, bitter gourd chutney etc. But most of the time those methods destroy the nutritional value of the bitter gourd. As we heard since our childhood bitter gourd is very good for diabetics and it contains more minarals like gold which needs to maintain our body systems.

Let's see step by step how to make a bitter gourd curry in sri lankan style.
IMG_20230725_180127.jpg
Ingradients
Bitter gourd500 grams
Chopped onion1
Chopped green chilli2
Curry leaves2 pinch
Dry prawns30 grams
Coconut milk200 ml
Cooking oil5 table spoons
Red chilli powder2 table spoons
Turmeric powder1 table spoon
Salt1 table spoon
  • The first thing I did was to thoroughly wash the bitter gourds. Then cut in to pieces as in the following picture.
IMG_20230725_174144.jpg
  • Then I chopped the onion and green chilli. In here I seperated the curry leaves in to single leaves from the pinch and also prepared coconut milk from the coconut. Here I must say how to prepare coconut milk from the coconut. First you should take a coconut with a shell removed. Then make it in to two pieces.
    After that scrap the coconut. Mix the scraped coconut with some amount of water. Then filter the coconut powder and take the coconut milk. I prepared the bitter gourd curry with my small electric cooker. So, first I added cooking oil in to the cooker and after the oil heated, added chopped onion and curry leaves in to it.
IMG_20230725_180559.jpg
  • After one minute of frying of onion, then added some amount of water in to it as shown in the following picture. Then added chopped green chilli, turmeric powder, red chilli powder and salt in to it. Kept for 5 minutes, for heating.
IMG_20230725_180714.jpg
  • After five minutes we can see the water is boiling . At that time I added the bitter gourd pieces in to the mixture and mixed well. At the same time I added the washed dry prawns in to it. Then Leaved it until the water settles to some extent. After ten minutes of heating I added the coconut milk in to the curry and mixed well and kept it for boiling with the cooker lid closed.
IMG_20230725_181857.jpg
  • After five to eight minutes of boiling we can take out the bitter guard curry from the cooker. So guys then you can taste it with rice or any other type of food depending on your choise. You can see my sri lankan style bitter gourd curry in the following picture. This bitter gourd curry is not much bitter as we added coconut milk. Not only elders can eat this curry, but also childrens can taste this curry, because not so bitter.
IMG_20230725_190733.jpg

Selfie with my bitter gourd curry.

IMG_20230725_190921.jpg

Hope you like my presentation. I invite you all to try this bitter gourd curry at your home. Because it is a very good vegitable for a healthy life. So guys, take care until we meet in another new contest like this. God bless you all🙏

For this contest I would like to invite @isha-rehman @abdul-rakib @senehasa
Camera sourceRedmi 10 power
Photographer@sandimal

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50