STEEMKIDS WEEKLY CONTEST #1 ANNOUNCEMENT: WHAT'S THE BEST WAY TO DISCIPLINE A CHILD? | Nomination from @sampu

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemitians in Steemkids !! Today I like to share my thoughts about What is the best way to make a kid disciplined.

Although I'm not raising any kid right now, I have experience of volunteering in a program of 500+ kids. I will share my observation.

2017-11-19 09-28-23.JPG

I'm a volunteer in Prothsahan Kolkata Chapter since 2012. Prothsahan is a inter school cultural competition of schools for underprivileged kids. It is conducted in few cities by an Non Government Organization (NGO) named Educare. In Prothsahan Kolkata chapter, around 20 such school participates.

My first observation is, beating on scolding kids should never be done to learn them discipline. It may force them to follow the order due to fear of beating, but they will look for possible way to by-pass the discipline. They will disobey at every possible opportunity. Fear should never be a solution and should not be attempted. It will make them to look for chance to break the rule.

What we follow in Prothsahan to make the kids disciplined is .. be disciplined first. Kids are quick learner. They follow what they observe.

The volunteers themselves follow the rules and made the kids understand why following the rule is necessary.

For example, when we distribute the packed breakfast to kids and asking them to dump the empty packets in waste-bin only, we ensure that we the volunteers are also not throwing away any waste. We made them understand the importance of cleanliness that way.

Volunteers always ensure they are treating the kids with respect. We treat them nicely, talk with them politely, value their emotion and we observed they are also following the same.

Punctuality is another aspect that is followed. We ensure the times mentioned in the brochure are followed, and ensure kids also learn the importance of punctuality.

Appreciating and rewarding the kids for following the rules are very good practice. Kids like when elders praise them, appreciate their effort. So, the seniors should acknowledge and appreciate when the kids are following the rules. In Prothsahan, apart from the individual awards, we have an award for discipline - which goes to the best disciplined school as per volunteers observation. We do announce this several time during the event and that motivates the kids to be disciplined.

2017-11-19 15-41-48.JPG

My sincere thanks to @steemkidss for reading my post. I invite my friend @beautymondal, @hriya and @roxycool1990 to participate in this contest. The photographs used in this post are clicked by myself using my Huawei Honor 6 Mobile phone.



As a prerequisite to participate in the contest, I have upvoted and re-steemed this announcement.

Screenshot_2021-06-26-00-35-54-192_com.android.chrome.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54