Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W1: My dreams in childhood by @rubilu123

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago


Image designed on canva

DC956389-5A37-43D8-A4A1-B8C251D70658.png

Hi guys,

Steemit engagement challenge is back!!! For this season 3, the rules are the same. Write a quality post and make sure you comment on a lot of entries to be considered as a weekly winner. For the first week, I will be participating in the steem kids challenge first which seems to know the dreams we had as kids while growing up.

While growing up, the only worry that I had was figuring out what I will eat. When I say this I don't mean I didn't have what to eat. My parents could provide. What I mean is that I have to think of a variety of dishes which I have to choose from. All thanks to my parents.

I've heard so many kids talk about wanting to become a doctor, lawyer, police, teacher, and all the other jobs. My case was quite different
While growing up I had a lot of dreams. At on point in time, I wished that I could become superman when I grow up and save the kids of the world. When I watched ben 10 at a point in time I run to my mum and told her to get me the ben 10 watch which I will be able to use to fight monsters. Something in me didn't know that I was only watching cartoons.


s

Well, the only time that I was able to pick an actual profession was when I was in upper primary school. I was asked what I wanted to become in future and I knew that saying ben10 or superman would make me the laughing stock of the class. I decided to go with a soldier since that one profession will allow me to fight crime and also save the world.


DC956389-5A37-43D8-A4A1-B8C251D70658.png

Through all this, my mom always supported me. She was the one who got me the superman cape when I told her I wanted to be a Superman in future. I could see how proud she was whenever she saw me zoom in and out of the house with my cape. She was the same person to buy me the ben 10 watch when I told her I wanted to fight monsters. Through this, she always looks for the best and she never said I couldn't be a Superman or a ben10.

When I arrived home from school and suddenly told her that I wanted to be a soldier, she was surprised. She asked what changed and I told her I realised that I was living a fantasy. Can you people imagine she stopped calling me her superman and started calling me officer? She made me proud of myself that day and then I knew that was what I wanted to be when I finally grow up.

Well if you ask me, I have not been able to achieve any of these dreams yet. It was impossible to be a Superman or a ben 10. Am currently at the university studying computer science for my degree. I still have a bit of an interest in being a soldier but I realise that the dream is going away from me slowly.

DC956389-5A37-43D8-A4A1-B8C251D70658.png

This is attributed to the fact that whilst growing up I dislocated my soldier twice, this has made my left arm weak so I know I wouldn't be able to go through that training. Whenever I see a soldier passing by I stop and look at him with admiration. In tamale, our airport is somehow connected to the barracks, before you go to the airport you have to pass through the barracks for checks. Anytime we get there I admire the soldiers there a lot and I still feel like if not for my arm I would have pursued the dream of becoming a soldier.

Well, I can say that after realising that I won't be able to pursue the dream of becoming a soldier, my dreams changed, and I started developing a love for software and machines. Currently, I dream of becoming a software engineer future in future and as I am currently pursuing a computer science course I am sure that with hard work and dedication I will be able to achieve my dream.

I will lie to invite @malikusman1, @chenty and @kasib07 to participate in this wonderful contest.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Woow your childhood dreams are quite interesting most especially your dream of being a superman 🤣, you just brought back memories in me as I use to watch Ben10, Sango Ku, Avatar and so many Cartoons when growing up. I usually watch all this cartoons 24/7 almost every blessed day in my childhood life. I also wanted to become like them so that I could be able to fight and kill monsters in future 🤣🤣. Little did I also know that all those things where fantasy and not realistic 🙆.

However, your dream of becoming a soldier is somehow complicated because of your arm injury. But I believe the dream can still be achieved If you pray to God and work hard for it.

I love what you are studying at the University which is Computer science, it's a very good subject and you can also achieved alot of things after your studies. I wish you all the best in this life brother. I am also happy your mom is always there to support you in what ever way she can, may God continue to replenish her source

Loading...

I really enjoyed reading my childhood dreams. Childhood dreams are actually very strange. Sometimes it's amazing to me, you had a childhood dream of being superman, maybe you saw that cartoon and that dream was born in you. However, I like your post very much. You have presented your childhood dreams to us very beautifully.

 2 years ago 
I am happy so happy during you childhood ,you had so many of things running through your mind . For it quite impressive to also see how you have always wanted to be a supper man with the intension of serving children to the extent of asking for a watch which can help you trace some aspect. Also for the fact that you went to school and you were ask of your profession and you decided to choose a solder which at the level of your university ,you decided to choose computer science which might end you up as an engineer tomorrow in the field of computer is really quiet impressive and I also for the fact that your family and your parents have always been in support of your day dream show good success in life brother

Reading your post really got me cracking 😂. Am convinced that as children we all at some point aspired to be one of the characters we watched in either cartons or movies, for me I wanted to be Avatar😆(and control all the four elements). But when you grow up you come to know it’s not possible.

So I too just like you had to choose a more realistic dream, which is to be a scientist 👩‍🔬. So that I can be able to develope cars robots and stuffs. Thanks for sharing buddy

It's interesting to know that you had a childhood dream just like every child your choice to be ben10 will sure make your peer make jest of you, but to become a soldier will help the nation to face all of its problems.

How did you dislocate your arm, not to mention twice? For this reason, I know you had to change your dreams because you will surely be disqualified during medicals, a bit on the real, you plan to become a computer scientist which is a good job.

Your mother encouraged you even in impossible dreams like becoming a superman. Mother is really such a woman. She will do anything for her children. And I am sorry that your dream of becoming a soldier could not come true. I wish your left hand a speedy recovery.

A lot of thoughts actually appear to us when we are young. That really tells that we were not as matured. The amazing people we see around most times in movies are what we want to be. This is very strange. And as we grow up, we see them to be something we shouldn't talk about. One will always wish to be a kind again. Thank you for sharing friend. Steem on!

😀🎉🎉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39