Writing Expedition Monday|| Dangers of Self Medication by @rossnenye

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year
Hello everyone good evening to you all. Hope you all had an amazing day? Today I will be writing on dangers of self medication, I will begin by sharing my story.

pexels-pixabay-208512.jpg
source
In the year, 2005 my aunty did her wedding and I was her little bride. My mom and I traveled all the way from Onitsha in Anambra state to Nasarawa for the wedding.
After the wedding I fell sick my mom wanted to take me to the hospital but my aunty's sister in-law said that she was a nurse and that she can take care of me. To cut the story short, she administered Intravenous Fluid on me and after a while I started feeling uneasy and dizzy. When I complained she told my mom not to listen to me that children always complain whenever Intravenous Fluid is administered on them. Suddenly I started vomiting blood it would have become more critical if I wasn't rushed to the hospital.

Dangers of Self medication

Developing drug resistance: This is reducing the effectiveness of drug which occurs when a particular drug is taken frequently. The body gets used to it and it won't be effective in the body.

Wrong diagnosis: Most times you might be taking drugs for malaria where as you're suffering from typhoid.

Adverse effects: They're drugs that have side effects on certain set of people which can only be known by trained professionals. For example pregnant women and nursing mothers are not allowed to take certain drugs because of the effect on the baby.

Worsening the condition: Self medication can worsening the condition instead of providing relief.

Wrong drug dosage: Every drug has to be taken in the appropriate dosage for it to be effective. Drugs when taken wrongly can worsen the situation or even lead to death.

Reasons why people self medicate

Money: A lot of people feels that going to the hospital is waste of money.

Shyness: They're people that feels very shy telling a doctor about their predicament, especially ailment that has to do with the reproductive system.

Phobia: Some set of people have serious fear for hospital smell, needle, blood and other things seen in the hospital.

Conclusion

Self medication is very bad, a lot of people have died and others disabled because of self medication. Each time you feel that going to the hospital is a waste of money remember the grave consequences. Whenever you're not feeling well, go to the hospital for proper check up.
Thanks for reading through, I invite @vudeme, @crowd1 and @joshlud to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 last year 

Self-medicinal drugs could be very horrific, lots of people have died and others disabled because of self-medication,i really appreciate your article keep it up😉💯

 last year 

Hello @rossnenye, thank you for your wonderful entry on writing expedition. You made a good and informative post there. On the site of those drugs, I nearly skipped your post. 😂😂Self-care is a very essential part of our life on earth. Thanks for sharing

Club StatusClub 75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI5.0
Score (quality/rules)8.5/10
Verification date:30-05-2023
i invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here
 last year 

Thanks for your review.

Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06. for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @eliany

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75