Tell Us About Your Best Christmas Memory||Organized By @ederra

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20211203-223131.jpg
https://m.timesofindia.com

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

INTRODUCTION
Hello friend, reader's,and my fellow steemians,it's been a while, hope you are all doing well.

Before I share with you all about my personal best christmas experience,I would love to ask you a question.
What is christmas really all about?
What those the birth of Jesus Christ represent?

To me christmas is all about love, showing and sharing the perfect love of christ to everyone around you,and his birth represents the time of salvation and repentance

Looking back 2years ago 25th December 2019,which was my best christmas experience so far.
You may be wondering what made it so special,well I got to visit the birth place of my mom for the very first time (Ohafia)which is in the eastern part of Nigeria (Abia). Due to me growing up in the Northern part of Nigeria (Abuja)I had only visited my Dad's place occasionally but never my mom's place, when I heard that for that year we would be visiting my mom's place I was beyond excited, Because I would get the chance to see my relatives, and experience their amazing culture

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

THE JOURNEY

Screenshot_20211203-221357.jpg
https://www.sunnewsonline.com

Before we left Abuja for Abia on the 24th of December 2019,we went out shopping and got gift for each relative that will be coming back that Christmas.
The journey from Abuja to Abia was an exciting but stressful one, it was an eight hours road trip with few stops for refreshments and toilet brakes,we embarked on the journey at 12:30pm.
During the trip we crossed different states including
Nassarawa
Kogi
Benin
Anambara e.t.c

I even got to see the popular Niger river as shown above, it was an amazing sight to behold and it made me appreciate the birth of christ even more.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

OUR ARRIVAL
It was at 9:pm we arrived Ohafia Abia state,I was beyond trilled to finally be here, a place I had never experienced before,we where warmly welcomed by our relatives, but the highlight of my arrival was seeing my widowed grandmother who was in tears and overwhelmed with joy to see us.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

DINNER
After being showed to our various rooms in the large family house and freshning up we gather to eat dinner together as a complete family for the very first time, at that large table sat my parents,my siblings,my uncle's,my aunt's,my cousins,my grandmother e.t.c
I and my siblings where introduced being the only new faces at the table.
That nite ended with it being the very best nite I had experienced, it was getting pretty late so we the younger children that where still at the table with granny where getting sleepy,so granny decided to pause her instreasting stories for another nite,she kissed and blessed us goodnight.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

CHRISTMAS

Screenshot_20211203-221856.jpg
https://www.rd.com/holidays/christmas/

Christmas had always been for me the highlight of the year, everything is different during this period, people are at their happiest even the atmosphere changes. Today was the day I would experience the whole Ohafia christmas culture and tradition.
We started that morning with one of my favorite Christmas tradition (Gift exchanging),after exchanging gifts here are a few things I received
Toys
Picture frames e.t.c
And my personal favorite from my granny a book (The power of a praying child).

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

CULTURE

Screenshot_20211203-222424.jpg
https://www.researchgate.net

One of the things I have been looking forward to is the traditional Ohafia dancers.
We left for the general christmas show being held at the general Ohafia council hall ground
On arrival it was in full motion with different traditional rulers from all over the eastern part of Abia state being present.
The Ohafia youth dancers took the stage dazzling everyone with their fire dancing tricks, also the traditional mascurade dancers took the stage,they where the best, their trick was like nothing I had ever seen before,they balanced a sculpture on their head while dancing to the redeem of the beat as shown above . On getting back home we all where tried, I rushed to granny to share with her all about it due to her absence at the event, I was really happy and fulfilled with the occasion,the rest of the week went by swiftly.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

OUR DEPARTURE
We left Ohafia for Abuja on the 30th of December 2019😭,I was in tears while saying my goodbyes to all my relatives especially granny we both huged,she kissed me on the forehead and blessed me, we departed early at 5:20am for enugu to catch our flight back to Abuja due to the lack of an airport in the state.we made it just in time for the 40 minutes flight back to Abuja,I was in tears all the way back.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

CONCLUSION

IMG_20211104_092050.JPG

That Christmas till date is still my very best not just because of the gifts and the culture of my mom's place Ohafia but also because of the quality time with family.
Special appreciation to
@ederra
@focusnow
@ngoenyi
@steemkidss
FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjod6YnTY5qi1z9nFNDcVqxMyGdZ5SE5E9S4AYeoNnFoP8qD6g3V3v6fMgHzjDhZNkLET2Ud.gif

Sort:  

Hello @rhema01,
Honestly speaking, your story is a very amazing one. I, specifically love exploring new places to learn more about Nigeria and it's culture, am glad you finally visited your mom's birth place.

Corrections

I love your flow of language, but you should learn how to use punctuation marks.

We left Ohafia for Abuja on the 30th of November 2019😭

The above statement contradicts your story, it's supposed to be december not November.

Generally, you have a very nice work, just endeavor to always re-read your content to make necessary corrections before posting.

Stay tune for the result.

Goodluck

Yes true
Saw the mistake tried to edit but am new so my power up couldn't take it yesterday
But I have made the corrections
Thank you for your review
Still hope this doesn't affect my chance to win the contest

Let's keep watching

I can really imagine what it felt like. Nothing beats the joy of having family around especially in the Yuletide season. Such beautiful memories.

Your rest
It's an amazing feeling

Thank you for your interesting life story of your 2019 Christmas celebration which you travelled from Abuja to your maternal home, Ohafia in Abia State, Nigeria.
From,
Mr. JOSEPH AGWU OGBAJIE,
@johanjahb.

Your welcome sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64937.78
ETH 3242.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63