Is it Good To Be Bilingual

in Steem Kids & Parents9 months ago

Hello everyone,
It's your favourite Steemian @rakiya from Nigeria and I'm delighted to join in this contest organized by @goodybest in this noble community today. It's a wonderful contest and I love to share my participation in it.

pexels-photo-5650018.jpeg
source

The contest topic says and I quote "Is it Good To Be Bilingual?". This is a personal question which I believe everyone can be able to answer personally. So based on the questions below, I will share my taught about the topic in question.

What Is your opinion about Bilingual?

The word Bilingual from my understanding means the ability of a person to speak two or more languages effectively without any issues. This means that when you speak this language, it should come out of your mouth as if it's the only language you know how to speak.

We are all born and trained with a language which is the means of communication between us and our families. When you speak this languages clearly you will and still speak effectively another language we can then say we are Bilingual.

To be being Bilingual is a perfect thing because it aids communication between people in places more effectively. Imagine traveling and meeting people speaking another language and you can't communicate. You will be stranded because of that but if you can talk effectively in their language you will be happy and the discussion can go on.

If you're a parent Would you like your kids to learn more than a language, and if you're a kid would you like to learn another language apart from your mother tongue?

A very big yes to that question. I admire a lot of people who speak different languages because to me they don't need to be sideline anytime they find themselves in the midst of those speaking the language.

If I have my kids today I will ensure the learn our official language and the language of the people we are staying around them no matter how little. I will also tell them the importance of that so that they will take it even more serious.

It's the duty of parents to see that their children grows in every aspect and that is also what I will ensure I do as a parent. So I will encourage them to speak other languages and learn it if the most in the most perfect way.

Which other language(s) will you like to learn?

There are lots of languages I would love to learn here in Nigeria because of the muti divisional culture but I guess that wont be easy. But for the sake of this contest I want to say I will be learn the 3 basic languages of Nigeria which is Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba.

As a Nigerian, wherever you are, you are suppose to have a good communication skills of these 3 languages mentioned above because that is what Nigeria as a country has called their own language. Also, anywhere you go to in this country you must find people within the tribes I mentioned above hence communication is necessary

What are the advantages of speaking more than a language?

The advantages of speaking more than one language can never be look down upon and the reason I say so is because everyone will always want an effective means of communication anytime or any where they find their selves.

So communication is one of the advantages of learning more than one language. Another one is building relationships. If you speak same langaueh with someone, you will notice that your relationship or bond with the person will grow stronger.

Finally, you can also find favour in the sight of the person. A good example is when an hausa man is in a Yoruba land and a fellow hausa man comes to buy something from him. When he speaks hausa the man selling will know that this is his brother and will give him more favour than the person who doesn't speak.

I want to invite @josepha @bonaventure24 and @Ihorgic to join the contest also.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...
 9 months ago 

Hi @rakiya thank you so much for. You're right being a bilingual helps us to communicate effectively with others, and it comes with health benefits too, for example bilingual don't suffer memory loss during old age. Success

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43