SEC17 WK:#4: the effects of economic hardships on families

Recently families have gone through untold hardship and stress due to high cost of living and econonical challenges. Many families are really feeling the adverse effects of this untold hardship especially families that earn low and do not have a good source of income. Children have had to adjust the way they eat and the number of times meal is being served.

pexels-yahaya-ahmed-326723906-13793194.jpg
Source

My family have unfortunately suffered this same fate since food prices went high and we have found it very difficult to cope. The most worrying part of this hardship is that we barely have enough to eat. We resort to eating twice a day some times even just once. The food is now lesser in portion and extremely less in nutrition. We now depend more on agricultural produce from our farms yet it still is not enough. Even though the size of my family is not as large as most people in our social class, we still find it hard to survive.
Recently we do not move about if not necessary because of the high cost of transportation. Transportation prices have gone up to almost 100% making it difficult to go out on some days. This high cost of transportation is attributed to the fuel subsidy removal by the present government which led to high cost of premium motor spirit (PMS). Fuel is currently being sold at ₦1000/L.

pexels-nahmadofficial-22228939.jpg
Source

Because of this hardship I've done crude jobs to make ends meet. I no longer go to school as frequent as I will like because of high cost if transport, I only go on days that I have important lectures to attend. My siblings too have taken up jobs to help support the family.
The scenario I can recall during this hardship is when I had no money in my account and I was so hungry, food in my house was shared between my younger ones. Being the first child I had to look after the rest of them. I went to the street where my friends do hang around and I asked for money but none of them had any on them.
All of us come from lower class families and we are mostly unemployed. I had to go on Facebook and search for people who wanted to sell their things online. I bargained price with them and looked for buyers who needed those things. On this particular day I was able to sell a phone higher than the price that the owner wanted to sell so I took the profit off it. Apart from this I've been doing little jobs I find online like writing, graphics design and drop shipping.
This is what have been giving me money and helping me to cope in this period of extreme hardship. I hope to finish school soon so that I can get a better job so that I can survive this bad economy.

pexels-ivan-samkov-7621142.jpg
Source

Families should brace up for more hardship and do all what it can to potentially reduce the effects. Families with plots of land should use this period to cultivate essential food that will sustain them in times of surging hardship and hunger. Excess waste of money on entertainment and merriment should drastically reduce instead money spent on those things should be saved or invested in ventures that will bring them money so that they may be able to cope with the economic hardship.

This is my take on this topic and I will like to invite my friends @pandora2010 @stef1 and @zekanem to participate in this engagement challenge.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

I can feel your thoughts my dear, for those of us born without a silver spoon it's not easy at all.
I know what I pass through daily just to survive. The government is not making things any easier but keep striving and hustling and you'll make it out better.

Cheers

 2 months ago 
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 17 in the Steem kids and parents Community.

I can see a lot of Families are facing extreme hardships due to high cost of living, economic challenges, and lack of proper income. Many struggle to afford food, resulting in limited meals with less nutrition. unnecessary expenses can help. The hardship this time is just too much, I don't even understand again

Club Status#club100/75/5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
AI Free
#Burnsteem25✔️
Score (quality/rules)8/10

Remember to always share your post on Twitter. This POST LINK is a guide to that effect

 2 months ago 

Hello friend, reading from you is like someone picturing those moments of hardship you had to past through.
And everyone has experience it in one way or the other, the best thing to do in these daring moments of life life is to o cheer up and know that's a temporary situation and that one-day you will just have to smile when you remember those times as you succeed in the future .

And about sacrifices we made as elderly ones to out younger ones, I can relate on that, I pray we make it early and also assist them, nice post you have here.

First picture of your content makes me disturb and I imagine how do they live without food, without house. I can not imagine for 1 day without basic things. Sometimes I should be thankful to God that they made us atleast in this level that we are living normal life.

Greetings,
Economic Hardship in the country is something is more than the descriptions of words.
How can an employee spend 70% of his or her income on Transportation. At this point, what will that individual have to survive? I hope this issue should be looked into thoroughly. Good luck on your entry.

Oops, this is intense. Reading through your posts simple told me you are thinking out if the box to combact the ugly hands of harship. We are out own help and so far you're connected to the Internet, there is hope. Keep us the good and smart work. Success

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44