Writing Contest || One Good Turn Deserves Another by @professorlenz || Club5050 || 2-09-22

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220902_120841_993.jpg
photo from contest

Good morning ladies, gentlemen, kids, and every member of steemit, young or old. It's morning here in Nigeria but I don't know your time zones so I'll rephrase the good morning to "good day"

Well, the world is filled with wicked people who most of the times, use our Goodwill as a criterion to harm us. For example, we hear stories of beggars using people's money to perform rituals so they gain whatever the person was gaining and leave the person in an utterly perilous state.
Due to this, a lot of people has given up on the saying one good turn deserves another.

Permit me to stand on ceremony and concur with the above notion. I'll be talking about a true life story, something that happened to me on the 18th of June 2022, from 6:30pm Nigerian time. I took note of the date and time because it's something I'll never forget.

flashback

It's the 18th of June today. The weather has been extremely cold due to the incessant rainfall these past few days. My cousin sent me to deliver some meat to his mum. I was going with my bike since the distance between my uncle's shop and his mum's house was a lil bit long.

On my way there, the chains of my bike slacked. It slacked in the wrong place if I must say. Several records of kidnapping and thefts on the road where I got stuck. This became crazy when I flagged down a lot of people but no one stopped to help. I was trembling in fear coupled with the fact that I was cold and sick.

Then a savior came by, at first I didn't think of stopping him because he had this scary look but the nearer he got, the more I kept stretching out my hand, calling for help. The time was around 6:30pm so I was scared. I couldn't even toll the bike home cuz the slacked chain held formed a loop in it's compartment. Happily for me, the man stopped.

He did a lot for me. Helped me loosen the loop the chain formed. After that, we tried fixing the chain back but to no avail. He didn't just stop there. He also helped me toll my bike from where I was in the middle of nowhere to some other place where we saw a mechanic. The mechanic we saw was not a bike mechanic so we were left stranded once more. At this point, the man decided he'll repair it himself. He borrowed a spanner from the mechanic and helped me fix my bike.

While this was going on, I was confused. Why is this guy helping me? Is it because I introduced myself as Jozzy's brother or because he wants to help?

Later i realized he helped because he found out I was his christian brother. I was so grateful to him that I resolved to pay him back someway in my heart.

Some days later, he came to our shop for some transactions. The queue was so long that it might have taken up to an hour to get to his turn. I decided to pay him back in my own way. I attended to him first so he could leave. Didn't forget to thank him again tho.

Most of the people there were annoyed as to why I'll let the man skip the queue. I told them I knew I was wrong but then I narrated what happened to everybody.

One of the women who came to withdraw agreed with me. She also narrated her story of how someone she helped when she was younger secured her admission into the university for her.

She ended her story with: "In the end, one good turn deserves another"

Moral Lessons

• The world is evil, it's clear for everyone to see. But then, that should not stop you from doing good in your own way.

• Like Jesus said, pay evil with good and pay good with good. When someone does a good deed to you, don't forget to appreciate him for his deed.

Cc,
@ngoenyi
@goodybest
@disconnect

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Hello @professorlenz thank you for taking part on this contest, the man who helped you have a heart of gold 🥇 I can't imagine how you felt in the middle of that dangerous road, but thanks to him who helped you out and you'd repaid in your little way. Just keep it up with the good deed I wish you success in this contest.p

 2 years ago 

Yes ooh, thanks 😊 Make una show me love 😂🙏

Nice story, keep up creating quality post.
I wish you luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09