Contest: Draw a festival in your country.

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year
Introduction

IMG_20230529_173757.jpg
radleking.png
picture source

This is a very interesting topic to write on, thanks to @nadeesee for introducing this educating topic for us to enable us learn and understand different festival 🎎 from different religion.


My festival which am going to display here today is usually practice in the Ibibio land in Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria it's called "ekpo masquerade".


Ekpo masquerade is usually comes out during the mber months it's is very interesting festival which is usually done mostly for entertainment, sometimes it is introduced in some of the traditional weddings but it is not compulsory.


Ekpo masquerade

Screenshot_2023-05-29-14-40-27-970-edit_com.opera.mini.native.jpg
radleking.png
picture source

So here is the reference picture of the ekpo masquerade I will be drawing today, please stay blessed and I hope you acquire knowledge from what am about to display thank you.


Step1.


Screenshot_2023-05-29-17-28-00-420-edit_com.miui.gallery.jpg
radleking.png

We all know the first thing to do in drawing an image is to place the reference picture Infront of you, then I used my pen to make a sketch on my A4 paper, and I make sure that it is represented correctly.


Step2.


After I might have finish with my sketch I drop my pen, then I take a closer look at the picture studying it to observe and understand were the light is comming from and we're the shade will be reflecting to, in other for me to archive a better drawing.


Step3.


Screenshot_2023-05-29-17-28-41-415-edit_com.miui.gallery.jpg
radleking.png

I start blocking the part that is shaded, using the technique call hatching, I make sure that the shaded area is completely shade, through this the picture started giving itself meaning an easily interpreted.


Step4.


Screenshot_2023-05-29-17-29-02-540-edit_com.miui.gallery.jpg
radleking.png

After I might have finish blocking my drawing I now start shading it, using two techniques "hatching and cross hatching"


It took me 30 minute to complete shading my drawing "ekpo" as you can see I only made it meaningfull I didn't really go into real detailing, I just made it to have something to learn from which is the light and shade in it.


Conclusion

As you can see the drawing the sketch took me 5minutes to finish while the shading took 30minutes so together I used 40minutes to archive this amazing drawing.


IMG_20230513_173037.png

Thank you very much for choosing prime art, and I hope this drawing steps has educate or can educate the kids and the steemit community as a whole.

IMG_20230513_173037.png

I would love to invite
@edidiongeffiong
@radleking
@wojuq1

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Very nice drawing keep up the good work and I wish you best of luck in the contest

 last year 

Thank you very much

 last year 

Hello @prime33, thank you for your wonderful contest entry on drawing your a festival in your country. The art looks very exclusive. I'm impressed by this drawing. So professional I must say. Masquerades like this are part and parcel of Nigerian Culture. Please ensure you use the #art tag as the first-fourth tag and not as the fifth next time. Also endeavor to vote on other people's post as your voting CSI is low.

Club StatusClub 5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI?
Score (quality/rules)8.5/10
Verification date:30-05-2023
i invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here
 last year 

The Ekpe Masquerade, also known as the Ekpo cult in Akwa Ibom State. I love this vivid representation of our culture. Your drawing is so detailed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63