STEEMKIDS COMMUNITY WORD DEFINITION CONTEST SERIES WK 04||WHAT DOES COMPASSION MEAN TO YOU?: 20% payout to Steemkids by @Pato84

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

20% payout to @Steemkids.

Introduction

Warm greetings to all my fellow Steemians all around the globe especially my friends in this great community. I am delighted to be part of this contest and much thanks to @steemkids for organizing it.

WHAT DO YOU UNDERSTAND BY COMPASSION?

Kindness is a sympathetic consciousness of other's pain and distress together with a desire to alleviate it. It means putting yourself in other's shoe so as to get acquainted with their plight and feel their pains. In other words, wearing others' shoe to know how it feels and pains them.

WHO CAN SHOW IT AND WHY?

Everyone needs to show compassion to those around him or her especially those suffering. It is one of the attribute that makes us human. When we have humane feeling for others we share their plight with them.

HAVE YOU SHOWN SOMEONE COMPASSION, HOW DID YOU DO THAT AND HOW DID THE PERSON FEEL?

Yes I have on several occasions, too numerous to remember or mention, shown compassion to people I come across. Especially as a medical practitioner, I encounter different kinds of people that needs compassion on daily basis and I have never relented to show it to them to the best of my capability. A woman suffering with Malaria and typhoid come to my office for attention. Immediately she started vomiting there till the whole place was littered and messed up with her vomit. Feeling very weak and tired and dizzy as a result of the vomit, she wanted to tidy up the place , but I asked her to go and sit down and rest to regain strength. I immediately, put on my hand gloves and cleaned up the vomit. She was astonished that I can volunteer to back her vomit with my hands. She was happy and thankful.

HAS ANYONE SHOWN YOU COMPASSION BEFORE AND HOW DID YOU FEEL WHEN IT WAS SHOWN TO YOU

Yes, I have been SHOWN compassion severally too. When my house get burnt and I lost everything that I have, friends, neighbors, and church members rallied around me to alleviate my pains and heartache by contributing so many things.Thiscompassionate gestures really went a long way to heal me emotionally.

EXPRESS COMPASSION TO SOMEONE IN A PRACTICAL

On the early morning hours of Thursday 7th October 2021, I logged into my church's WhatsApp platform and I saw this announced

Gud evening saints of the most high God. Michael Chiroma is hospitalized in General Hospital here in Akwanga. He is in need of blood donation, any blood donor who wishes to assist should go to the General Hospital for onward blood donation. God will bless u as u do that"

Immediately I left everything I was doing and rush to the hospital to donate. Unfortunately after the Blood grouping and Xmatching they said I can't donate to him. So I started running around to get someone who can donate. Fortunately I found one and he donate and the patient was transfused and he is recuperating. The mother was so grateful for my Compassionate gesture.

The patient in need of blood transfusion I visited
IMG_20211007_120140_931.jpg

Some of the other ways I have shown compassion

Treating an orphan girl who had high Malaria and typhoid with infusions and injections.

Monitoring the blood pressure of a widow
Visiting a patient at the hospital for blood donation.

One of my neighbour put to bed and and was tired and weak so I dropped with some injectables free of charge. And she has ever since then remained grateful.

DO YOU THINK COMPASSION IS A VIRTUE THAT SHOULD BE CULTIVATED BY ALL AND BE DEMONSTRATED IN A PRACTICAL WAY?

Yes, compassion should be practised by all and sundry irrespective of tribe, colour, race, religion or status. Since no body is immune against predicament and misfortunes, we should cultivate and imbibe a compassionate lifestyle.

HOW DID YOU LEARN TO SHOW COMPASSION AND WHERE?

The first place I learnt about compassion is from my parents especially from my mother whose compassionate heart is outstanding and stands second to none. Our parents don't like seeing us in pains or hungry or sick.
In fact her compassionate heart is a typical reflection of the . And they also taught to always care for our siblings and others we meet.
The bible is another avenue through which I learnt about steemit. In it I try to copy the life of Jesus our compassionate Lord and Saviour.
My profession also has helped me to know more about compassion and even practice more of compassionate acts.

HOW WILL THE WORLD LOOK LIKE IF EVERYONE CULTIVATE THIS QUALITY?

Our world will be devoid of of acrimony, hatred, depressed people and happiness will be the order of the day. Paradise and Edenic life will be restored.

Conclusion

Compassion just as the name implies is passionate, sympathetic and empathetic. We need to also care and show concern to the suffering, mourning, destitute those that are victims of injustice. Thanks to steemalive for this contest.
I wish to humbly invite @petersdeeby, @joyvictory @mukan to participate in this contest

Cc: @focusnow
@stephenkendal
@ngoenyi

Esteemed Regards.
@pato84

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

We make the world a better place with compassion. Thank you for sharing and wish you success in this contest.

 3 years ago 

Thanks so much for visiting my blog and commenting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63