Contest #13||My Favorite childhood story and lessons with 10% payout to @steemkidss by @pato84

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Warm greetings to my fellow Steemians in this great community. Thanks to
@ngoenyi and @steemkids for coming up with this contest that tends to refresh our minds on memory lane, Childhood is the most enjoyable stage of life. It's full of fun and plays, beautiful stories both fiction and non-fiction, moonlight plays and so on and so forth.
One of my childhood stories which I consider the most favorite story because it's full of lessons carried from childhood into adulthood is the story of the Dog and the Tortoise. This story was told to me at childhood over and over again. Little did I grab the meaning and handful of lessons contained therein as of then. But as an adult now each time I ponder over this story it teaches me great lessons that has helped me In life.

IMG_20211001_122329_687.jpg
My siblings and I and the family friend who told me the story. I am the one at the second line extreme right

Here is my Story

Once upon a time a race of couple of miles was organized between the Tortoise and the Dog to know who will first reach the destination and whoever emerges as the winner by reaching the destination first will be handsomely rewarded.
As we all know that the speed and pace at which the dog moves cannot be compared to the sluggish movement of the Tortoise. Judging by this, one would conclude the dog will carry the day.
When the last three commands has sounded;
On your marks........
Get set....
Go.....
The race began, the dog started off with the speed of a lightening while the Tortoise started off sluggishly.
The former was running but was incessantly interrupted and distracted by various stoppages on the road. As he goes any where he perceives the smell of an excreta he will stop and eat it up before he continued. Whereas the later was uninterruptedly moving slow and steady nonstop.
At the end of it all ,the Tortoise due to its uninterrupted and undistracted movement reached the destination before the dog thereby winning the trophy.

Lessons Learned from the story

  1. Consistentecy in everything we do in life pays handsomely.
  2. The race is not to the swift but the slow and steady will always carry the day.
  3. We should not allow anything to distract us in our journey to destiny.
    Most at times the first always become the last.
  4. We should not focus our attention on those who seem to have outran us in life instead we fix our eyes on the goal and should get determined believing that wherever the runner reaches the trekker will also get there it's just a matter of time.
  5. I need to be cautious of things I do and indulge in lest I will be the first that will become the last like the dog.

How did you learn or who told you the story?

This story was told to me and my siblings in one cool evening when we traveled home during festive periods by a very good family friend.

At what age did you learn the story?

This story was to me when I was about 12 years old and it has stuck tenaciously in my memory since childhood because of the enormous lesson it has taught me.

conclusion

Stories teach very good moral lessons that can remain indelible in our memories. My childhood was full of interesting stories and lessons I learnt from my parents, uncle's, elders and elderly men and women. I also wish to be telling my kids stories that will teach them good morals. Thanks for reading my story.

I hereby invite @petersdebby, @graceonyi and @desiredlady to key into this contest

Cc. @yohan2on
@kiwiscanfly
@focusnow
@whitestallion

Best Regards
@pato84.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks for participating in this contest organized by @ngoenyi, and the story sound interesting.
Thanks for sharing and keep sharing quality content with us

Wow....great writeup @pato84

Learnt from it too

 3 years ago 

Thanks so much @joyvictory for reading. I am looking forward to seeing and reading your post too.

I heard about this story, I was once told about it too. It's a nice story and also the lessons from the story, especially, I liked the lesson on consistency, it means don't be allowed or be carried away by distractions. Thanks.

Nice moral lesson "slow and steady win the race"

Interesting story

When I was a child, I thought the dog foolish base on this story and I've never ponder on it till now.
Thanks for helping me realize the lessons there

Nice story, I learned from it,
Thanks for sharing.

 3 years ago (edited)

Thanks @desiredlady, @patience90, @jwinny, @renrimaiki, @debaron for visiting my blog

This was one of my favorite childhood stories.
The lessons are very clear and glaring. Thank you for this sharing this beautiful story with us.

 3 years ago 

You are most cordially welcome @madilyn, thanks for reading and commenting

 3 years ago 

Wow, the story is so interesting, we always need to know that slow and steady wins the race.

 3 years ago 

Thanks for visiting my blog @fortwis09

 3 years ago 

Don't mention, dear it's my hubby after all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16