Week#2 Saturdays: Photograghy - Photos and memories goes hand in hand

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year

There is no doubt photos bring back the best of our memories.

They recall those moments that really happened. Moments of tears, joy, happiness, love, disappointment, those timeless treasures.

Is this not what “true life” is all about?

What we capture in our photos is what is captured… forever and ever.

“A camera is a SAVE button for the mind’s eye.” — Roger Kingston

Paging through my photos the other day I could not believe the number of photos I have. Not only on my phone but also on my Dropbox folders.
Nearly 42,000 photos! I know what I will be doing one day when I am old and sitting on the veranda with a blanket over my knees and a pot of tea next to me.

All of a sudden I don’t mind getting old. As for my children, luckily it will be their problem to give me these photos in a way that I can view them. Technology would have gotten the upper hand on me by then.

“A photograph is the pause button of life.” - Anonymous



Today I would like to share two photos with you that are close to my heart.



My aunt Rynie, my dad’s sister. A remarkable woman and a woman who had an enormous influence on my life.

  • She was always the one I could share my “intimate” secrets with, that first kiss.
  • She was the one who was always listening and who never judged.
  • She was the one who would always cook prawns for us.
  • She was the one who always had a sweet or two in the pocket of her dress.

As a young woman, she fell in love with a German soldier, Leonard, just before World War 2. The two of them got married and after a very short time as husband and wife, my uncle was called for duty. Aunt Rynie wanted to return to South Africa but it was not easy. The whole world was in madness. As she was a single young woman traveling by herself it made it even more difficult.

I use to sit at her feet listening to her telling us kids of her ordeals. If it was not for the jewelry she had she would not have been able to return to South Africa alive.

“Not to put your eggs in one basket is crap. It should be, don’t put all your gold and diamonds in one basket”. “If there is ever a world war again, buy all the jewelry you can. People are going to need money for food but you, you are going to need gold for safety.”

I can recall her so clearly telling us this.

Come 10 October every year, her birthday, I silently celebrate it with her.

“Capture every moment as if it is your last.” - Anonymous



The second photo is also of a woman. My darling daughter, Tamsin.



This photo was taken on the day that I realized that she is no longer that little girl that was fighting for he life when she was born at 7,5 months weighing only 1,2 kg.

Here she was on the verge of her life a beautiful young lady going to her matric farewell or promenade dance as the Americans will call it.

She was now a young lady who I have to let go of. It was time for her to spread her wings and enter the adult world. I could not hold her back any longer, I could not fight her battles for her anymore, and I could not stop her from making her own decisions.

Now, 18 years later, it still brings tears to my eyes just looking at it. This time it is tears of joy as she has turned into a beautiful woman, a remarkable wife for her husband, and an awesome mommy for her children. A daughter that I am tremendously proud of.

My advice is don’t stop taking photos. You can never have enough!

“If you don’t think photos are important, wait until they are all that you have left.” Anonymous

image.png

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available. https://cdn.steemitimages.com

Sort:  
 last year 

Greetings @patjewell,

I love to read your today's articles about past memories that you had experienced in your life and the photos as a reminder of memories. Photos are like time machines that can transport us back to our cherished memories. They capture the reality of a moment and then preserve it.Photos allow us to relive the joy, the love, the laughter, and the tears that make up our lives. In a world where time is pasing, Photos are a way to make memories last forever. Photos are a reminder of the people we love, the experiences and the journeys we've taken. So, keep clicking those pictures and treasure them like the priceless gems because in the end, they may be all that we have left.


Best regards @prabin09

 last year 

What a beautiful comment on my post!
I could not have put it any better. Well done!
When we were little my dad put a lot of us on those old 3mm films you use to get. Somebody put all those films onto CD for me so long ago and now it is on my computer.
It is one of my biggest thrills when I can sit and watch those movies... memories, priceless!

Congratulations!
This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts/comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @loloy2020

TEAM 4 CURATORS

 last year 

Hello @patjewell, thank you for publishing your wonderful contest in our community. Your article today about your past life memory is wonderful. And the photos are very clear. They are the only ones left to us at last. Best wishes to you.

Club Status#club100
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI18.5 ( 0.00 % self, 205 upvotes, 120 accounts, last 7d )
Score (quality/rules)9/10
Verification date:2023-03-25
i invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here
 last year 

Thank you for the kind verification! 🎕

How right you are, the photos keep many special memories of people, especially those who left this world.❤️

What a story about your aunt, I imagine the terrible situation she lived through. She's right, jewelry gets us out of trouble.

Your daughter is beautiful, it is incredible that despite being premature, she has survived and is her pride. It is not easy to let them go home. I don't want to think about when my daughters do it...

Thank you for sharing such excellent content 👍

happy sunday 🙏

 last year 

Thank you for your visit and beautiful words. 🎕

You know, I was so scared to let my daughter go but it was the best thing I could have done. We are now so much closer and we enjoy being woman together now.

You have brought your daughters up beautifully. They will be fine. Just enjoy womanhood with them.

Wishing you an awesome week!

¡Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through -steemcurator06.
We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere, with any tags.

PicsArt_03-04-10.27.16.jpg
Curated by :@damithudaya

 last year 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93