Wednesday – I spy with my little eye – Mini contest (64)

in Steem Kids & Parents9 months ago



Hello SteemKids and Parents!

It is Wednesday and one of my favorite days of the week!

Did you know that Wednesday is also known as "hump day?" It is the day between the beginning of the week and the weekend, and it might occasionally feel like a "hump" to get over.

Time to relook last week’s clues.

1. It is a 10-letter word starting with “S”
2. It is a noun and slang
3. Disgusting
4. On Halloween you will see many wannabes

And the correct word is "SCUZZBALLS."

According to various dictionaries a "SCUZZBALLS"is a nasty or offensive someone or even a “thing.”

We can also say that it is someone who engages in harmful practices or bad behaviour hence the clue of “wannabes” walking around on Halloween.

What is another word for scuzzball? Slimeball, sleazebag, creep, and also yerk.

Yes, the word scuzzball is slang and that is what I want to focus on today.

Slang is an informative way of speaking and as they say, it breaks all the rules of the English language.
I found a very interesting article about SLANG

In this article the author writes the following:

I had this experience once in the city of Newcastle upon Tyne when a young boy came over to me and asked:
“Have you got any tabs for me Da?”
I apologised that I did not understand his question, and he went on to explain that the words 'tabs' are slang for cigarettes, and 'Da' means Dad or Father.

And… we don’t have a winner this week!

That brings the prize for this contest to 4 STEEM.

Time for your next game!

The game is exactly like last week;

The game “I spy with my little eye” is sort of a detective game. The “spy” is the person who sees something, and the rest of the players must then guess what the spy is seeing.

Of importance, it must be something that you can see and not something you can feel, like an emotion.

BUT, “I spy with my little eye” is so much more than just a spy game;

  • It is a thinking game
  • It teaches you how to use your logic and reasoning and
  • It grows your vocabulary

The contest

For today, I am going to give you the letter with which the word starts plus 4 points, or “clues,” that you can take into consideration to figure out what the word can be.

Ready or not… let’s learn, play, and win!

I spy with my little eye something that begins with the letter “D"

1. It is a 13-letter word
2. You have to compare
3. Something is wrong
4. It can also be personally

How to participate?

  • You can reply to this post by posting your word, or you can write an article about your word
  • You can only enter once

What is up for grabs?

The first correct answer will take home 4 STEEM this week.

The word and the winner will be announced next week on Wednesday; therefore, make sure you don't send in your answer later than Tuesday 23:59 UTC.

If there is no winner, the prize will carry over until there is one.

Until next week, keep guessing!

15% to Steemkidss

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  
 9 months ago 

The word is "discrepancies"

 8 months ago 

Ah!! Someone new taking part!
Thank you for the guess. Now we wait for Wednesday. ☕

 9 months ago 

The world is Differentiate

 8 months ago 

Nice one! Let's see on Wednesday if you were right! 🍦

This contest has been included in the daily Active Contest List

Contest Alerts: Active Contest List on 05th Oct 2023 - Win 550+ STEEM

Follow & Resteem for more updates.
#ContestAlerts #winwithsteem

 8 months ago 

And as usual... thank you! 🧀

 9 months ago 

Discrepancies is a 13 lettered word that starts with "D" and can be used to compare when something is wrong or personal

 8 months ago 

Thank you for guessing! Unfortunately someone else already guessed this word.
See you next week!

The word is 'disconcerting '

 8 months ago 

Wednesday is only a few sleeps away! ☕

 8 months ago 

Another tough one this week😅, I hope I get it right this time.

I will soon drop my guess✌️

 8 months ago 

I am waiting in anticipation! (•ิ‿•ิ)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37