Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W4:Childhood or adulthood, which do you prefer? by @patjewell

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)



Image Source

“Sit still”

“Don’t stress”

These are the two phrases we have heard or is going to hear the most in our live hood.
The first phrase as a child and the second phrase as an adult.

For this challenge my first thought was that I would have to flip a coin today to decide which I prefer, childhood or adulthood. In the end I had a clear winner.

Being a child in South Africa

“Persons below the age of 18” is how the age of a child is defined under the South African Constitution.

When I was considered to be a child the age of a child in South Africa was 21. In terms of the Children’s Act 38 of 2005 changes were made to legislation and the age was reduced from 21 to 18 and applicable from 01 July 2007.

The biggest problem South Africa has with the age of 18 is on the educational side. There are plenty learners at school who is still of this age but who is now considered to be an adult. Parents feel that being an adult they no longer need to support their children with the result that few further their education and in the end it just adds up to the unemployment problem and high poverty we are currently sitting with.

In light of the Children’s Act it is expected of parents to support their children until they become self-independent or self-supporting and not only until they turn 18.

There are certain rights children have before they turn 18.

AgeExamples
Age 14Can donate blood
Age 15Have the option to leave school
Age 16Can obtain a license to drive a motorcycle

South Africa -A country where children have equal rights under the Constitution, but where the worlds into which they are born and their opportunities in life are very unequal. This according to Unichef.org

image.png

Being an adult in South Africa

I am 18! Now my life starts!

This is what most young people think no matter if you are living in South Africa or any other country.

Little do they know what awaits them;

  • You and only you are no in control of your life
  • You have to look after yourself
  • You have to be grateful for what you have and protect it
  • Only you are responsible for you safety
  • You will be reliable for the rules you break
  • You now have to make your own doctor’s appointment
  • You must decided whether you must wear a jersey or not
  • You have to pay your own rent and your own taxi
  • You have to learn that a loaf of bread can last a week

As a child we all dream of that day which we will be called adults. Then one day when you wake up you realize that you are now an adult and you are all on your own. All of a sudden you wish to be under 18 again.

To crown it you get placed in categories as you grow in age.

AgeAdulthood
18–34Early adulthood
35–44Early middle age
45–64Late middle age
65+Late adulthood

My daughter ones asked me if “adulthood” is a swear word. I cannot help to wonder if she was not right after all.

image.png

Childhood or Adulthood, my preference

When I was young we were told to wash the dishes. I couldn’t wait to grow up so that I no longer had to do it. Now I am an adult and I am still washing dishes. Somewhere in life I went wrong.

As for as washing of dishes concern – NONE!

As for other reasons, CHILDHOOD ! I would rather listen to that forever “Sit still” than to that “Don’t stress” .



Image Source

Why?

Once upon a time there were 101 Dalmatians.
Today I can give you a 101 reasons why I prefer childhood above adulthood.

  1. I want to play in puddles of water
  2. I want to play dress up at birthday parties
  3. I want to sit on my dad’s lap again
  4. I want to play hide and seek with the boys
  5. I want to be the first one to get food
  6. I want to bake cake with my mom
  7. I want sleep overs and pillow fights
  8. I want my face to be painted
  9. I want to jump and try and touch the clouds
  10. I want to dream about elves and fairies
  11. I want more than one holiday in a year
  12. I want to cry when I can’t have something
  13. I want to be able to blame my siblings
  14. I want to push my nose against the window when it rains
  15. I want to sleep for long hours
  16. I want to build a time capsule
  17. I want to sit up and wait for Santa
  18. I want to decided where we are going to eat next
  19. I want to play with bubble bath
  20. I want to choose the money we are going to watch
  21. I want to sleep late
  22. ….

and 101. I want pocket money!

The life of a child is so less complicated and simpler with no stress, no worries, no responsibilities, no anxieties, no must do’s and no complications.

image.png

How I wish I can go back in my life being a child again. This time not wasting one single second of my time!



10% to Steemkidss

I invite:
@nadiaturrina
@senehasa
@venturabogarin

Sort:  
Loading...

Great post, resteemed and upvoted on @southernafrica

 2 years ago 

You have written well ma on this very contest, you prefer childhood to adulthood based on so many reasons as you have also listed them above, among which include the fat that you wish yo sit on your father lap once again, you want to play puddles in water etc. Childhood is really amazing because you have zero worries,i wish you success in this contest ma. Please do well to visit my blog and engage with me too.

 2 years ago 

I think deep inside we all just want to be that child again.
Maybe it is the good memories which makes us think that way.
Thank you for reading and engaging with my post. 🤛🏻

 2 years ago 

@patjewel

Hello ma'am,you prefer childhood over adulthood ,the way you explain is very unique.I also feel that childhood is the phase which we always wants to get back in, but it's impossible.wish you success..Plz have a look on my publication,it will be my honor.

 2 years ago 

It’s like you’ve said, we all still have that bit of a child inside us. 😊
Thank you for reading and engaging with my post. It is appreciated.

Being waiting for more than 48hours to make sure I don't miss your publication, and here it is, delivered wonderfully, but I was think you would prefer adulthood, well our preferences differ, and I can see leading why you love your childhood it's an amazing stage of our lives.

Thanks for sharing
Greetings and blessings

 2 years ago 

Haha! Sorry for making you wait so long 😊
Just think how boring life would have been if we all had to be the same. No fun at all.
Now I’m curious to read your post.
Thanks for the visit 🤛🏻

Smiles, a review on my lost will be great, i messed around a lot as a kid, but the spanking was also there for me

 2 years ago 

Me encantaron todas tus razones por las que escogiste la infancia para obtener cariño y comprensión ademas de.muchos obsequios

 2 years ago 

Awh thank you! Being a child was so nice just a pity we didn’t always appreciated it when we were little.
Thank you for reading and engaging with my post.🌼

 2 years ago 

It's My pleasure

 2 years ago 

Hola amiga bella, que lindas todas tus razones por las que prefieres ser niña otra vez, jugar en los charcos era genial yo lo hacia mucho y cuando veía a mi mama venir salía corriendo al baño jajajaaj.

espero que tengas mucho éxito cariño.

 2 years ago 

I’m so glad I brought back some memories for you 😊
I cannot wait to read what is our choice but as it is nearly midnight here I will have to do it in the morning.
Thank you for the visit 🌼

Excellent reasons to want to be a boy. Children really live without worries, play a lot and are very dreamy. Thank you very much for sharing friend. I loved reading it. God bless you 😇🙏

 2 years ago 

Hello! It’s so good to hear from you. I do hope you are well.
Memories is what we build our lives on. As for childhood, nothing can beat it.
Thank you my friend. God’s blessings to you also 🌼

 2 years ago 

Hello @patjewell, good to see that you are in the same childhood boat with me. I love childhood a lot.

The biggest problem South Africa has with the age of 18 is on the educational side. There are plenty learners at school who is still of this age but who is now considered to be an adult. Parents feel that being an adult they no longer need to support their children with the result that few further their education and in the end it just adds up to the unemployment problem and high poverty we are currently sitting with.

Additionally, like you mentioned, adults being in high schools is a big problem for the parents and the individual at large. That has been the major cause of insecurities, increase in poverty and so many other vices we see in our society.

Thank you for bringing out these points.

 2 years ago 

Nice to see you here my friend! It is appreciated.
The only thing which can save education is to make it free for all.
Then on the other hand, I’ve so often seen that when something is for free it is not appreciated.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58186.66
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37