The compendium of my building project level #4: Roof, 95% complete

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year

Snapchat-1749137912_1.jpg

Roof- as short as your name is and as easy as it is when you are being pronounced, one will think that you are that simple and easy to come by. Of all the aspects of this building project, you are the most important and the most expensive. I thought I had passed through it all until I got to you. Well, impossibility does not exist with the Almighty. He has done it again.

Hello my dear friends and well wishers, I am back to give the 4th update on my building project. This is all about placing roof on the building. I thought it was going to be easy but no, it wasn't. Well, please read about what is involved in roofing this building.

Roof on its own is that cover that is made for a building which protects it from the rain, wind, sun, snow and other extreme weather conditions. As soon as a building gets to this stage, there is that excitement and happiness that comes with it amidst it's heavy responsibilities.

Responsibilities? Yes. I thought roofing is an easy thing. I was thinking that the budget mapped out for it was going to be enough. But no, it wasn't. In fact, it has almost swallowed up all the cash I have left.

The type of roofing sheet we choose and why

We choose to go for urban planet roofing sheet. It is not the most expensive neither is it the cheapest. It is just moderate.

IMG_20230330_103649_536.jpgroofing sheets

We went for it because of its durability and the cash at hand. If we had gone for something higher, trust me, we wouldn't have been able to complete the roofing. We were given an estimate of 3.5 bundles. A bundle is 50 sheets. But as the work went on, it was discovered that 1 more bundle will be need and we got it ready.

There is a story I heard about the area the land is located. There is this neighbor that built his house with a very expensive materials and lived a type of life that depicts that he was feeling too big and feeling wealthy more than his neighbors. Ordinarily, one will not have any problem with that type of life but not everyone will feel the same. This Man's house was raided by armed robbers more than 3 times and he was forced to flee the area, abandoning his house. Neighbors told us that it was because of his way of life that attracted those robbers to him.

The lesson is that when you find yourself among your neighborhood, try not to live above them even when you have it all. Try to come down to their level and appreciate the little others have.

The materials used for the roofing

2x4 Rafters270
2x3 Hard woods286
2x3 Soft woods300
3 different sizes of nails13
Gasket20 pack
Urban planet roofing sheet4.5 bundles
Gutter20
Ridge cap29

And others

Roofing began with noggin

IMG_20230329_161006_273.jpgthe noggin completed

Noggin- this is that framework that is done on a building top before adding the roofing sheets to give is firmness and shape. It is what determines the quantity of roofing sheets to be used as well as the shape of the roof.

Noggin took 6 days to complete due to rain and other factors.

Roofing took 3 days to complete. The weather was favourable. Though there are still a little area to be touched but it will not take much time.

They will also do the noggin for ceiling before they finally complete everything.

Type of roofing

There are different types of roofing which includes flat roof, Dutch Mansard roof, butterfly roof, gabble roof and so on. Ours is a type of gabble roof due to the shape of the building. Gabble comes as a result of the gutters and ridges. The building has 6 gutters.
I am grateful that the burden of roofing the building has been lifted. As it stands, I can say for sure that we will soon move in.

IMG_20230331_153203_279.jpgback view
IMG_20230331_153331_047.jpgside view
Snapchat-1749137912_1.jpgfront view

The plumbing

Alongside the roofing is the plumbing work. The plumbing is 90% ready. We faced some delays from the one contracted to do the job but he will soon be done. We also need to buy additional materials that he will use to complete the work. Hopefully, by tomorrow, we will get them ready.

IMG_20230331_142850_279.jpg

IMG_20230331_161244_742.jpg

What next?

The flooring, plastering, the exit doors, protectors for the windows are the next in line. We have already contracted the engineers for them and hopefully, they will deliver within the next 7 days if all things should work out as planned.

Truly speaking, it can only be Jehovah!

I am grateful to everyone for all your supports till this far. I am already warming up to pack in latest, ending of this April.

Until I come your way again, remain blessed! It is good to be good!

Please dear curators, I am not in any club for now

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

This is my introductory post here

IMG-20220913-WA0013.jpg

Sort:  
 last year 

Nice post ma, the project is amazing and quite fast. God has really been by your side.

Yes is not good to always show yourself because you are rich if not one day your pride will bring you down to poverty.

Am surprised a woman like you knows alot of things about roofing, keep it up and I hope to see you back to steemit again. We love you 🥰

 last year 

Am surprised a woman like you knows alot of things about roofing,

Smiles! I was there all through the roofing journey, I asked lots of questions and I assisted in one way or the other. It is a great honor to learn these things.

Thank you for your kind comment. I appreciate

Congratulations!
This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @josevas217 / 04/04/2023

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Wow, it doesn't feel like your dream house is almost finished.

It looks very nice and comfortable, are you planning to put the steem logo on one of the walls? That will give a lot of motivation to the steemian in your country.

 last year 

It looks very nice and comfortable

Thank you very much.

are you planning to put the steem logo on one of the walls? That will give a lot of motivation to the steemian in your country.

You are very right here. I will do that. Let's see how it goes.

I really appreciate your kind words and support. It means a lot

Wow!!! @ngoenyi,

This project is really going very fast and am so happy for you. Roofing is surely the most expensive of all, When you start, the ending is always so easy. God will keep perfecting it for you. From the look of the building, all is reaming is protector, doors and glass. Am sure by the next update, you must have moved in. Congrats!

 last year 

I say a big amen to your prayers dear. I appreciate

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Wow! I couldn’t believe my eyes when I opened your post this morning!
It is a house!! Whoop whoop! 👏🏻👏🏻
You are making good progress and the end goal is in sight. Another April baby just like me 😊
PS: You can now become a building project manager for others

 last year 

It's really coming to reality. I can't believe my eyes. Yes, April baby in deed. Thank you so very much

 last year 

Waoooo this is so impressive, honestly I lack word to used. I am over excited to see this. If so before may you might pack in immediately after plastering then stay there and do every other things. Congratulations ma

 last year 

I lack words too my dear. It can only be Jehovah! Thank you so much

 last year 

Massive improvement. Congratulations once again on the progress so far

 last year 

Thank you so much

 last year 

I really thank God that the project is wo king perfectly, building house these days in Nigeria is no just a small task, it needs time, money and wisdom.

 last year 

Thank you so much dear

 last year 

Wow, really amazing, you will soon occupy it

 last year 

Thank you so much my boss man. A dream come true!

One step closer to the dream! I'm too fulfilling one today! 🐬

 last year 

Thank you so much my dear friend. Congratulations in advance dear. I have already seen the Dolphins swimming around 🐬🐬🐬🐬🐬🐬🐬many more dolphins to you dear. It is well deserved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60911.15
ETH 2726.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44