SUMMER SEASON IN MY COUNTRY AND WHAT IT IS LIKE//CONTEST🏵️🏵️

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago

Special thanks to @ngoenyi for the contest. I invite my friends @brendakim, @faith-diana and @cutieprossie to participate.

In Uganda, we have two season and that is the rainy season and summer where it's all sunny and bright. Want to to know what summer here is like? Hope you enjoy the poem.

Summer-beach-image.jpg
Image source

The bright sun rays steal a peak through the heavenly skies,
They tip toe out of the clouds as they make their way through
They spread with arms wide open like a person breathing in the fresh air of a new day.
They chase away the darkness and ursher in the light,
They chase away the cold and ursher in the warmth.

The warmth welcomes us from the rainy season,
It lands onto our skins like a well placed fresh breeze
Our bodies welcome them with a smile
Ohh!! It is summer again
They rejoice.

The housewife can now hung her clothes,
The farmer can now put out his millet to dry,
The worker and student can now peacefully go where they have to without fear of reaching their destinations while dripping.
Everyone is happy.
It is business as usual

I touch my face and it is dripping with sweat,
Almost as if someone has poured a glass of water on it
I look up and I cannot hold my gaze,
It is extremely bright,
It is extremely hot.
I go to the beach to cool
I cannot believe my eyes,
The whole place is packed.

I make a detour to the swimming pool
I cannot believe my eyes,
It too is packed.
What am I to do? I ask myself
It is too hot
I get restless,
I feel uncomfortable.

I take a look at the heavenly skies
I long for at least a drop of rain on my face.
The sun looks down with a wicked smile,
I give up and head inside.
I soak myself in the tab,
How nice!!
I feel better.

Night befalls us
I creep into bed and slumber.
I toss and turn,
My night gown sticks to my skin.
I awake,
The hotness of the day has followed me to my bed.
My pillow is soaked in sweat
I open the window and turn on the fun.
Ohh...how I miss the rain.

Thanks for reading
💞💞💞

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you for your participation in this contest and I love the way you wrote it as a poem. I wish you success in this contest.

Thank you for reading my post🤗

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44