Scrambled Sentence: What is the correct sentence?

in Steem Kids & Parentslast month

1000013323.png Photo Credit to @patjewell

Scrambled Sentence


A sentence is badly scrambled, and now it looks like gibberish. The goal here is to get the words rearranged such that it makes sense.

I love puzzles and can't easily walk past them. Challenging my wits and pushing myself, such that once it's solved, I kind of reward myself with a nice 'well done' feeling. And it's a great way to learn.

Note that, ready to learn means ready to get corrected, so i wish i get this one right.

The scrambled sentence

Stone, company, with, stood, seabirds, lonely, like, sentinel, a, for, single, a, only, standing

What are the main rules?

  • There are 14 words, each to be used only once.
  • No word should be left out or added to this.
  • The resulting sentence must be grammatically accurate.

For a start, I had to add the word sentinel to my vocabulary.

1000013369.jpgscreenshot from Oxford online
Now that I know what a sentinel is, I can now put it correctly in a sentence. Needless to mention that I had experimented with a number of conbinations using the provided input.

This is what I came up with

A stone stood alone like a single lonely sentinel with only seabirds for company.

  • All given words was used exactly once.
  • No extra words was added.
  • No words was removed.
  • The sentence is grammatically correct.
  • The sentence also conveys a clear meaning.

A solitary stone is the subject in the sentence; the stone stood alone, emphasizing the stone's isolation like a lonely guard on watch whose only companions are seabirds that perch on it. This paints a vivid picture of a rock in the middle of the sea, like an outcrop or a sea stack - one that is all alone, a spot where seagulls can catch their breath.

Conclusion

I just hope i got it right, it will be a long wait till when the answer will be revealed latter.

I am inviting @bela90, @lusciouslucy and @dequeen to participate in this scrambled sentence contest. What can you make out of thos words?

#sentence #steemexclusive #english
#nigeria #5050 #writing
#learnwithsteem

Sort:  
Loading...
 last month 

At first, I felt sorry for the stone being all on its own in the middle of the sea, but then I thought how wonderful it is that the stone is a haven for the birds. The stone is performing an amazing task.

Is this not how it often feels for us in our lives?

It is just proven that there is always something good to a story.

Best wishes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42