Drawing A Catfish

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago (edited)

photostudio_1672786762933.jpg

Drawing a CatFish

Catfish is the name given to a group of fish that grows barbels or feelers that resembles a cat's whisker. They are scientifically known as Siluriformes, belonging to a group known as ray-finned fish

Catfishes naturally do not have scales, but may be protected by an armor made up of bony plates that mostly protects the head region while other parts of the body is protected by a slimy substance that protects against infection and will repel predators.

Habitat

Most cat fish are often found in freshwater though we have a few that can live in saltwater, Being a bottom dweller, catfish will often be found at the deepest area of the pond, river or sea and prefer areas that have sand, rubble or gravel instead of muddy buttons.

Feeding

Catfish are nocturnal, they mostly feed at night and their food consists of a wide range of both plants and animals including green algae, insects, snails, aquatic plants, seeds, crayfish and small fish.

Locomotion

photostudio_1672795033361.jpg

For a catfish to move itself in water it largely depends on the streamlined body shape it has which makes swimming a lot easier damping any drag that could be created.
It heavily makes use of it's tail fin as a propeller, working in consonant with it's dorsal fins. Which also helps in steering the fish to different direction. This fins work with the Pectoral fins located at the sides of the fish which sterilizes the fish.

Availability

The catfish happens to be one of the mostly consumed fish in AkwaIbom State. It is often used to prepare a special soup called "Afede ndeg iyak " or fisherman soup. There are special markets where catfish are sold. The supply comes from Ibaka, Oron and Ikot-Abasi all within AkwaIbom State.

Where I saw Catfish

I have been seeing catfish in my soup bowel, I have seen it on tables in the local market and few times I see the smoked version of catfish.

importance and nutritional value

Can be farmed for money, Catfish is good for food as it is a low calorie food, it also provides a good amount of vitamin B12, proteins, and omega-3

Nutritional Info
from the WebMD Ingredients Guide

Serving Size 1 Serving

Calories 153 % Daily Value
Total Fat 9 g14%
Saturated Fat2 g10%
Trans Fat0 g
Cholesterol 53 mg18%
Sodium 60 mg3%
Potassium 0 mg0%
Total Carbohydrate 0 g0%
Dietary Fiber 0 g0%
Sugar 0 g
Protein 18 g36%
how I like my catfish

Catfish is best saved warm with sufficient paper in an okra based soup. Just be careful, we have some monstrous bones

Me and My Catfish

photostudio_1672800354332.jpg

How I draw my Catfish

To draw the CatFish, I hade to made use of a piece of plain paper (A4) as my canvas.

• A4 plain paper
• A Pencil
• An Eraser
• Nokia C30 (Camera)

Material and tools

Step 1

photostudio_1672800570137.jpg

I got my A4 paper ready with my Steemit user name on it.

Step 2

IMG_20230103_154609.jpg

Started drawing from the fish's head, it's whisker, eyes and down it's body...

Step 3

photostudio_1672801107540.jpg

I added more features down to its tail. The main structure was out and I needed to prepare for shading. Shading had always been the most difficult part but I am getting better...

Step 4

photostudio_1672801222711.jpg

To prepare for shading, I had to mark out the areas that will get light and heavier shading as you can see the light demarcation lines made.

Step 5

photostudio_1672801347706.jpg

I finally added the shading to the catfish and this is what came out of it.

Step 6

photostudio_1672800354332.jpg

This is My Catfish


This contest was organized by @eliany and I will love to issue an invitation to the following
@udyliciouz @bela90 @kesybliss


#sk-catfish #club100 #art #steemexclusive #creative #nigeria #catfish

Sort:  

Your post has been supported by @josepha from team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 50%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.
Voting date:

04/01/2023


image.png

 2 years ago 
Club Status#club100
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI18.2
Verification date:2023-01-04
MOD's Observations/suggestionsThank you for participating in this art contest. You have draw a good catfish. Best of luck for the contest.
 2 years ago 

Wow!
This is beautiful.

Just learning about its nutritional value and how rich it is in vitamin B12, protein and Omega-3.

Your sketch is beautiful too. Real artistic hands.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for appreciating my effort, those hands are not that of an artist, I just draw stuff and lately I was shown how to apply shading on my work.
About the fish, our local catfish is safe for food but catfish in polluted water is not good for food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36