#burnsteem25 | Teaching Students How To Build 3-D Shapes

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-06 at 12.11.01 PM.jpeg

Hello kids! Hope you all are in good health.

Today I will show you how I taught my students, studying in class 4, to build 3-D shapes. This hands-on activity was meant to give them the understanding of the difference between 2-D and 3-D shapes. In this post, for the better understanding of you and other kids on steemit, I will briefly explain what 2-D and 3-D shapes are followed by showing you how my students built those models.


So,

What are 2-D and 3-D shapes?

• 2-D stands for two dimensional and 3-D for three dimensional.
• 2-D objects are measured by their length and height and 3-D objects are measured by their length, height, width and even depth.

For example, this drawing consists of shapes that are 2-D. These shapes are flat and cannot possibly be held in hands.

shapes.PNG

Whereas, almost every object we see around us is in 3-D form. They can be measured in all sorts of ways and can be physically held.

shape 2.PNG


Now, I will show you how I taught my students to build 3-D shapes. First, lets talk about the material; We used colorful play dough, tooth picks and images of 3-D shapes for reference.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-06 at 9.13.33 AM (1).jpeg

Next, we simply began to join tooth picks together using play dough to keep them in place and give them a firm structure.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-06 at 12.29.42 PM.jpeg

And our 3-D shapes were ready.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-06 at 9.13.32 AM.jpeg

We build a couple more shapes as you can see.

WhatsApp Image 2022-06-06 at 9.13.31 AM.jpeg

This activity was really fun to do with the students and it helped them understand the structure of 3 dimensional shapes really well. Not only that, such activities are great for enhancing fine motor skills too so I recommend you kids to definitely try this activity out.

I hope you enjoyed reading my post, have a nice day! xx

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I really enjoyed reading your post and I appreciate you so much for sharing such a valuable lesson on how to build 3D shapes

Status Club
#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI
10.7
Verification date:
06-06-2022


 2 years ago 

Thank you so much! :)

 2 years ago 

Hello @lolitsmaryam, Your post has been selected as one of the quality posts for the day by steemkids community. Congratulations! Please keep making quality and original contents with us here. We love you so much and will like to read more of your posts.

Please endeavour to resteem, vote and comment on the post of selection. Thank you!

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much! You just made my day with your kind words. I love you guys too!

 2 years ago 

These are colourful. I even learnt how to differentiate between 2-D and 3-D shapes. I could not master the differences until now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65422.12
ETH 3433.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31