The Diary Game 27/09/23 || Tending for our hen and their newly hatched chicks.

in Steem Kids & Parents10 months ago

InShot_20230927_222933362-01.jpeg


I was welcomed with a sharp, soothing sounds from our livestock on getting to work yesterday. I was running my morning check, taking stock of the animals...until I got to the cage of our roaming birds that were brooding, I started hearing sounds of chicks. I could not but let out a joyful sound myself.

Funny enough there were two hen brooding in the same space in the cage. Although there are enough room in that cage but why the two hen decided to lay and hatched in the same space is what I do not quite understand.

Just last week one of our hen hatched and while I was happy that it hatched the chick, there was this little disappointment I couldn't hide. This was the same hen whose eggs we added to, about 18 eggs plus it's. I know this is way too much for it but that doesn't mean it has to hatch just 5 chicks out of over 20 eggs.

iMarkup_20230926_141627.jpg

The left over unhatched eggs

Anyways the chicks that had just been hatched by the two hen was a consolation for the other as they both hatched 14 chicks all together. The sight of it gave me so much joy, that I had to capture the moment.

iMarkup_20230926_141648.jpg

The two hen that just hatched

What we then did afterwards was to withdraw all the chicks from them and add them to the hen with 5 chicks so it can cater for them all as we don't have the luxury of time to allow three hen focus on chicks upbringing while they should be laying and multiplying.

iMarkup_20230926_141714.jpg

The hen to which we moved all the chicks to

After moving all the chicks to the hen with 5 chicks, we then moved all the eggs it refused to hatched to the two hen whose chicks we have withdrawn so that they can hatched them, so they don't totally waste away. Well this is a very calculative experiment which I've seen worked before.

iMarkup_20230926_141740.jpgiMarkup_20230926_141740.jpg

The two hen on the eggs we brought to them

Funny enough they sat on it and guess what, we got two more chick today from the eggs we brought to them. The experiment did work again even though they didn't hatch everything. It not over though, we could still get more if we allow patience take it full course.

But if that two will be the end, it means they will begin to wander about again till a cock around the farm get it to start laying and producing chicks for us...winkz. No time to check time😃.

Anyways this is what has been giving me joy, the only challenge we have now is that the mother hen with about 23 chicks seems to identify it own chicks and has noe began to turture the ones it perceive are not it's.

I believe with time we would find a way around it as some of the chick are already getting injured from the attack of the mother hen...and am just like, why won't it just take care of it all and consider those other ones as adopted chicks...abi it does not posses the spirit of a true mother?

After all we provide the food it needs including that of the chicks, no hustling at all for the chicks...sigh! I know we will get past this somehow.

Let me wrap it up here friends, I trust you enjoyed my write up. Thanks for reading up. I sti remain your local farmer...lols
Do keep well till I come your way again. Gracias!


Regards
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  
 10 months ago 

Hello @lhorgic, thank you for publishing your content in our community today. We have assessed your entry and we present the result of our assessment below.

Club Status#Club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI7.1
#burnsteem25
Verification date:2023-09-28

MODs Comment: thanks for sharing your day with us

I invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high-yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here

Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06 for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @enamul17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70