The Diary Game 19/10/23 || Milling and weighing of birds for slaughter.

in Steem Kids & Parents8 months ago

iMarkup_20231021_150934-01.jpeg

It's been a while friends...I miss y'all. I've been very lazy these days. Penning my thoughts now seem like a real difficult task. Maybe because work has been tasking. Anyways I had to muster strength to pen down my diary today.

It's been work as usual, I think am getting use to the stress and everyday routine. It's amazing how that our body tend to adjust to things we initially found difficult and uninteresting. Well everything is still part of training. Constraining one's self to get the best later on in future.

...So I was steady on the grind today...lols. We had to make food for our birds and it required that we milled some of the feed components; whole maize, soya beans and etc. Well it was my duty as I was the only one in farm and this took me hours.

iMarkup_20231021_150904~2.jpg

Me, during the milling process

It took me hours before I finally finished the whole thing under the sun that was sheepishly grinning at me not minding the effect it had on me, well I didn't mind. All I focused on was how to quickly get those things crushed to taste and then move on to the next task for the day.

iMarkup_20231021_150825~2.jpg

Soya beans successfully milled

The one that took my time was the cassava peel I had to crush as well. I really hate crushing it expecially when it is not completely dry. It takes both time and energy and consumes a lot of fuel. That's why we avoid it generally.

Normally we would always take it down to a milling house to get it crushed 90% for a token and then bring to the farm where we fine tune it to our taste with less effort.

iMarkup_20231021_150803~2.jpg

Crushing process of the cassava peel

After about two hours, I was done crushing the feed. And then I remembered I had to scale our birds for the next slaughter...oh yeah! We have started selling those birds. If you have followed my diary long enough, you would have read about one where I talked about DOC, I mean day old chicks, they are all grown and fit for the market.

We have actually being slaughtering since two weeks ago. We select the ones within a particular range using a scale. When we discover the ones that have not measured up, we would spare them and continue feeding them to meet up.

iMarkup_20231021_150736~3.jpg

weighing one of our birds

This one falls within the neighborhood of what we want, so definitely it was marked for slaughter. Anyways we've slaughtered almost all the chicken save 5 that looks so small. And that due to their genetic formation. All birds are not just the same.

Sometimes these middle men play dirty games by changing some of the already packed bird with breeds that didn't come with the pack from hatchery. Business men and dishonesty, anyways not every business man or woman do that but some dubious ones are of the believe that you have to lie to eat which is very wrong.

I did some other things after this and that was it for the day I had to retire tired but then it was worth it. There is dignity in labour. If we don't give up with what we are doing, we would definitely achieve the bigger picture we long for.
Thanks for your time friend, I really appreciate it. Till I come your way next time...


Regard
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  

Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06 for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @eliany

 8 months ago 

Gracias mama,your support is much appreciated @eliany.

Loading...
 8 months ago 

"There is dignity in labour," this is beautiful.
You had a long day. Thank God for the night. If not, people would've been working round the clock without taking some rest.

 8 months ago 

You're right dear...the night time is a blessing am grateful for. The body will always need rest. Thanks for the engagement. Do have a blessed week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66216.02
ETH 3547.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01