American Movie Review || Talk to Me

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year (edited)

Please note that there will be spoilers ahead.

I've always been a big fan of the horror movie genre, so you can imagine my excitement when the long awaited movie - "talk to me" was released. There's a lot we can learn from watching movies, even more so, survival skills from horror movies.
Brace yourself as I take you on a journey on my review of this movie.

Introduction

IMG_20230922_083955.jpg
Facebook

Title: Talk to me
Genre: Horror, thriller
Release date: 2022
Run time: 1hr 35 mins
Directed by: Michael Philippou and Danny Philippou

Plot summary

The movie is based around a teenager named "Mia" played by "Sophie Wilde"and her friends, who decided it was fun and exhilarating to mess with supernatural forces.
They happened upon a video circulated on social media featuring young adults who allowed themselves to be possessed by unknown entities after coming in contact with "the hand".

IMG_20230916_214238.jpg
screenshot from my media player

Things unfortunately got out of hand when they tried the dare and an entity stuck with her and wouldn't let go...that is, until it got her soul.

Cast

Mia -Sophie Wilde

IMG_20230916_214021.jpg
screenshot from my media player

She plays the role of the depressed teenager who is still grieving the loss of her mother. In order to find a distraction from her loneliness and her pain, she leads her friends to try the dare only to unleash an evil entity who wouldn't let go until it got her soul.

Jade - Alexandra Jensen

IMG_20230916_214054.jpg
screenshot from my media player

She plays the role of a supporting best friend to Mia. She leaves her comfort zone just to help her friend feel better. Although she unknowingly makes it worse, she could have been the brains and know when to say "NO" to try something as crazy as that.

IMG_20230916_214110.jpg
screenshot from my media player

Max- Marcus Johnson.

IMG_20230916_214209.jpg
screenshot from my media player

He played the role of a supporting father to Mia. Even though he is still mourning, he tries to be strong for his daughter.

Riley-Joe Bird

IMG_20230916_214137.jpg
screenshot from my media player

He plays the role of Jade's younger brother.
Even though he's is quite young and full of innocence, his desire to want to "belong" to a more social group leads him being a victim of the supernatural forces. His curiousty was his downfall

Sue- Miranda Otto

IMG_20230916_214154.jpg
screenshot from my media player

She plays the role of a very intelligent mother to Jade and Riley. She suspected something was off from the start but unfortunately she couldn't understand it until it was too late. She shows just how powerful a mother's instinct can be, especially a single mother parenting teenagers.

Hayley- Zoe Terakes

We all have that friend who your parent would always warn you to stay away from because of the negative influence that can have. Yes, Hayley was just like that. The friend who would dare you to do something really crazy and dumb and would joke about it later.

IMG_20230916_214225.jpg
screenshot from my media player

Joss- Chris Alosio
He and Hayley were the two friends who managed the game and led the whole process. Birds of a father, am I right?

Theme

Horror, paranormals, depression, suicide, peer group influence.

General Performance.

The delivery was on point and it was easy to relate to each of the characters. You can feel the emotions involved in each scene. If you are faint of heart, don't watch this movie. The thrill and horror was evident in each scene. The suspense was enough to keep me glued to my seat throughout the whole movie.

My Opinion.

I would rate this movie a solid 7.5/10 due to the thrill and horror portrayed and dispatched beautifully. As a huge fan of such movies, I have to say that I wasn't dissapointed and it's definitely worth seeing.

Conclusion

I started by saying there a couple of things we could learn from watching such movies.

  1. The first one being, don't mess with things you do not fully understand.
    2)Avoid negative peer pressure, when you finally get into trouble, you'll be left all alone.
    3)If you feel down or depressed, consider talking about it with your family and loved ones, and if it doesn't work, seek professional help. It is never wise to try to bury it deep inside, it will eventually resurface.
    I hope you've probably learned something from this review, and if and when you check it out, let me know what you think about this beautiful movie.
Sort:  
Loading...
 last year 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68195.23
ETH 2703.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78