Coping with Rejection and Moving Forward

in Steem Kids & Parentslast month

Greetings, fellow Steemians worldwide! I hope you all had a fantastic day. I'm excited to share a personal story with you and I hope you'll all like it. So, stay tuned

20230404_080758.jpg

There are some people who thought I wasn't taken relationships serious because they haven't seen me in one, but little did they know I've been heartbroken before. Wanna use this medium to share this personal story.

As a people person, I love motivating, encouraging, and interacting with people.

There was this particular damsel with a heart of gold. Because I normally engage her with inspiring talks, over time, I discovered she had a good sense of humor. Well, she looked gorgeous on the outside and fantastically beautiful on the inside.

Check this one out, Joe. She might suit you, my mind said to me.

Of truth, I did a background check. Didn't Gary Chapman say that to determine someone's character, you might need to check their background? One way or the other, they might have inherited such character from the father or the mother.

Looking back at the time I visited her at home, her mom was very caring, nice, and sweet. So, she might, of course, be nice as well.

            ———

Mom, do you know this lady? I asked my mom showing her her picture on my phone.

Yes. That's the beautiful daughter of pastor so and so. She's a complete replica of her mom.

Pastor's daughter? I, too, I'm a pastor's son nau. I sense compatibility. Mom you don get in-law be that, I said under my breath.

And so, yours faithfully began to admire her awesomeness! Tell me, who wouldn't admire good things nau?

With time, we began to intimate ourselves cordially. Our talks ranged from sweet names like, "dear" to "dearie" to "dearest," and to "love." Chai, when I heard these sweet pet names, I got my hopes up.

Aside her reputation, she was a good singer also. You know how Honesty loves singers nau. 😅. And na so this young, innocent man began to love this amiable damsel from the depth of his heart o. Is it my fault to love in peace again ni? Lemme joor.

But there was a problem: I didn't have the confidence to confess to a lady I love you. 😢 Aswear, dem no born me well say that. 😅

I decided to text her a message instead, ranging from complimenting her, and finally, I ended the message with: I love you, Lovina. 😍

My dear Lovina replied, Thank you bro Joseph, what? Bro Joseph? When this one take start nau? She continued, for professing ur feelings with me. But... I must say I'm sorry. (What! Blood of Zechariah!)

I couldn't believe my ears. Hot sweat ran down my spine. For some minutes, I was emotionally paralyzed. I must confess, I cried inside small. Lovina, ya no good o. Issoke nau. 😢

Take heart and try again next time. There's nothing wrong in trying again, I hear you say.

Giving up is never an option, right? Good. A few months later when everything was going cool and fine, I tried again but this time in a different dimension: I made a beautiful video using her pictures, embedded with beautiful texts on it.

We were a few miles away, so, I sent it to her WhatsApp. (This man! Again?)

I was expecting her response, but nothing. Two days later, still nothing. Jesus! Lovina viewed it, and went silent. People in the house, she didn't say anything o. At least she should have complimented me for the awesome video nau. 😢 (Sheybi I think say I'm wise.)

I was devastated. 🤦 The bible says affliction shall never rise the second time. Shey e never rise the second time now? (Ehen nau, since you no dey read your bible nko.) 😆

It's never ok to give up now, I encouraged myself.

                   ———

A few months later, I met this amiable, adorable sleeping beauty. Yes, she was blessed with beauty, fair in complexion, sparkling eyeballs with white shining teeth. Although she had no dimple. (Just leave alone. No be dimple I wan chop abeg.)

So, we started chatting on Facebook. (This blue app sef don bring a lot of heartbreaks. 💔) Did I tell you she was good at singing? (This me and singers, na God go deliver me o.)

She's blessed with a caring, adoring, beautiful heart. Spiritually disciplined. (E shock you? Na chorister o.)

Hello, sister Helena. Hope you're good, and I believe you enjoyed tonight's message.

Evening, sir. I'm good by God's grace and tonight's message was awesome, she replied with a smiling emoji.

That's good to hear that.

"But... I could sense you were not in the church tonight. Hope everything is all right,** she said, feeling curious.

𝑆𝑜𝑚𝑒𝑏𝑜𝑑𝑦, ℎ𝑒𝑙𝑝. 𝑆ℎ𝑒 𝑏𝑒 𝑠𝑝𝑖𝑟𝑖𝑡?

I returned from school a few minutes ago, and so, I was dog tired, I laid a plausible excuse.

I loved her heartwarming spirit and kind gesture, and I was wondering the best way to tell her the truth without her feeling uncomfortable. I wouldn't dare to ruin that platonic friendship we had.

There's always a way, right? One fateful, quiet night, I started engaging her with friendly talks and questions. I wanted to saturate the atmosphere with warmth and openness. (You say what?)

And boom! I screwed up my courage and spilled the bean. Brethren, guess what?

Sir, that 'sir' yaf quench my spirit, I'm sorry, but I must tell you, you'll get to meet someone more caring and adoring than I.

Shut up that rubbish! I muttered under my breath with devastation. I said I need you, not anyone else. Flimsy excuse, another heartbreak, 💔😥 I thought to myself.

Brother Joseph, you were too impatient. You should have heard from God before proceeding, I hear someone say.

Meshionu there with your strange voice. Must I hear a voice before I profess? Heartbreak for the third time within the space of a few months. Oh, God why?

Tor, lemme start seeking again. If I see someone better than Helena or Lovina, I'll go directly to her and say, Oh sister Esther, blessed art thou amongst women, coz in a vision, God brought you to me. And so, from now henceforth, we shall be one! 😆

So, brethren in the house, if you help me see such amazing person, lemme know: for the oppression of my people is becoming unbearable. Frenemies everywhere. Yes! Frenemies because they pressured me into heartbreaks. 💔 Oh my heart. 😢 😅

                                 **The End.**

@comfortable
@zekanem
@chi5

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34