Indeed It Was A Blessing In Disguise

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

png_20221025_224342_0000.png
Designed on Canva

Everybody has a story to share when it comes to life experiences. I have had my fair share of moments which I thought everything was not going as planned. But sometimes we get to see that some things work out for our good in the long run.

This is a story about a young man who set out for tertiary education in Nigeria. This is my story, stay glued:


Throughout my stay in secondary school, I have always had good results, I haven't failed an exams before. I was admitted into the university of uyo to study petroleum engineering on my first attempt. The joy of being admitted was so captivating, you all know how it goes when someone gets his dream course at first attempt.


Just like other students, I set out to come out with good grades, but my ambition was dashed after I saw my first semester result. I did too poorly for a person who wanted to graduate with good results. One of the courses I failed in my first semester was Engineering drawing, a course that dealt mostly on orthographic projections. I almost fainted when I saw the results on the result board. I felt so bad that I returned back to my shell for a while.


I did the course again, and this time I vowed not to fail again. Maybe I didn't do well at first because I thought the course won't be applicable to petroleum engineering after my first year. I studied really well, bought the engineering drawing textbook and practiced more. For me I studied just because I wanted to pass the course. Well I passed the course with a B. I was really happy. And I thought within myself that I won't be doing drawing again.


3 years passed on, and I have adapted to the ruggedness of the school system. A year four student who will be sent out to get industrial training. The Industrial training program was a compulsory one but it is always hard to get a company or industry to get hands-on-the-job experience. I applied to many petroleum related companies in Akwa Ibom state but to no avail. I applied to a lot of companies, and I lost track of the companies I applied in for internship.

On a faithful day I was called in for an aptitude test in a good company in Akwa Ibom state. I was partly happy that at least a company has called me after applying to more than 15 companies. I prepared by reading a lot of books on aptitude test likely questions related to Petroleum Engineering. I was shocked to see my course mates also in the test hall. I had this little fear, cos I didn't know what kind of questions would be asked. The time for the test was upon us, we were asked if we could use the computer to draw, we all said no. With some questions on our faces as to why we were asked that question, we saw plain sheets, pencils, rulers, and erasers in no less time. We were given something to do on orthographic projection.


I remembered vividly well that I have at one point done that particular drawing before. I was beaming with smiles while some of the other people were grinning. I finished the test and was called in for an interview. Only 2 people passed the interview , of which I was among.
I stayed in the company for 4 months, whilst also getting experiences and cash. On the day I was released from the internship, I was in deep thoughts on how I got the job.


IMG_20191008_103404_3.jpg
My first day of work


If I didn't fail my year one drawing, I wouldn't have gotten that job, because failing the course made me to practice more. Maybe I would have missed the opportunity to gain the experiences I had.

Though I felt bad when I failed the course, in the long run, it helped me to get my first job experience. Indeed this was a blessing in disguise.

Morals From the story
  • sometimes things just don’t work out the way you want them to, but in the long run, we come out better.

  • Some experiences comes to weaken us. Show life how tough you can be.

  • We never know where our blessings might come from, be grateful in all situations.

1663195388291.jpg
Enjoying the blessings


Thank you for reading.

I invite @imohmitch, @davidmarkgeorge and @brightoekeh to participate.

10% payout to steemkidss
Cc,
@goodybest

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Ahhh failing that drawing course was indeed a blessing! Truly we should be thankful in whatever situation we find ourselves because it might turn out to be a blessing in the future. Thanks for sharing your experience with us here. It's good to know that you're from my city of residence, feel free to contact me, I wish you success!

Status Club
club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Grading:
9/10
Verification date:
10-25-22


 2 years ago 

Thank you very much. I will do well to contact you.

 2 years ago 

Great moral lessons.
I learned the hard way that most disappointment are blessing.

You're definitely right bro, we never know where our blessings will come from.
Nice Entry bro, i wish you luck in the contest👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58786.64
ETH 2309.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49