My Childhood Dreams ||By @jaspichman125

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

dream-4827288__340.webp Pixabay.com

My profound gratitude goes to @ngoenyi the founder of this amazing community @steemkidss for organising such a knowledge-sharing contest so as to promote the development of our kids as well as our development (kids lovers). May @steemkidss continue to soar higher. And may kids lover continue to learn all the lessons that are shared in this great community.

I am glad to participate in this contest. This is my entry post.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPZ739PtAp81knE2xSziNTZqYJRxNLKJZyZHLHwRPR9cVHQF6FgXdfBbHBiZDu2LUQK8wDQT3Pc.png

MY CHILDHOOD DREAMS: INTRODUCTION

Dream (s) is what lies deep in the seat of one’s heart which he/she wants to fulfil. Dreams are imaginative thoughts that may come to pass when acted upon by a right mental attitude and will. Everybody wants to become something or somebody in life; that’s dream! A dream is what you want to become in life.

Dreams shouldn’t be confused with fantasies. Fantasies are mere wishful thinking and wanderings of the mind like Alice in the Wonderland. Fantasies are often appealing to the mind and our souls. They’re pleasant things that our mind thinks about which are most unlikely to happen. Fantasies are vain hopes and so they shouldn’t be confused with dreams.

2gsjgna1uruv8X2R8t7XDv5HGXyHWCCu4rKmbB5pmEzjYSg7SnZ4Loy8DiFQ24Tspgksf3RTqdoUrJu1ThKdbp5P2oVmjSV16aVa7s8FjRHrzLFubc.jpeg

WHEN I WAS A CHILD

aircraft-994943__340.webp Pixabay.com

I was born and brought up in the village, a familiar experience for most Nigerians. I recall with fondness the memories of my childhood. Each time an aeroplane ✈ passed over the horizon of our little community, we would run out of our huts with delight to take a view of the flying aeroplane. I always wondered how the aeroplane could fly high into the sky.

That was the beginning of a desire in my heart to one day become a pilot who would also fly an aeroplane in the sky. I have sometimes fought with my friends because I told them I won’t be carrying them in my aeroplane when I become a pilot. It is always interesting going back to memory lane.

The desire or the dream to become a pilot was so strong that it outlived my early childhood years up to my high school education years. I held onto my dream of becoming a pilot. This was further bolstered that there was one of my community member by name Adamu who was a pilot. My father used to tell us about his travels to the Lagos, Abuja, the UK, USA, etc.

After my high school education, I made both enquiry and research on what it takes to be a pilot. I discovered that the least of courses in piloting costs about 3.7 million as of the year 2012. It was as if a cold water 💧 was poured on my dreams of becoming a pilot. It died almost immediately. Where on earth 🌎 can I get that kind of money from? I asked myself.

Then came my second dream to the fore. Both of my parents were teachers. I have always loved the way they do their job. They have influenced my formative years. As a result, I have always admired their profession secretly. When my dream of becoming a pilot was shattered, I picked up a sort of Plan B dream; I wanted to be a teacher.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmoBsdBtkV8wv62o1VqmSKYBkES6mnZ4KnZFJohv9N1LAN9Ghm4475PShL7otwA8kMxB2eVt.jpeg

THE GROWN UP ME

20210629_113335.png
A photo of me during my recent seminar to youths on "how choice and decision affects one's destiny"

I furthered my education in order to actualize my dream of becoming a teacher. On getting to the university I realised I can be a lecturer if I work towards it. That will be a kind of upgrade from an ordinary classroom teacher to being a college or university don. This served as my motivation throughout kind my university education. I graduated with a magna cum laude bachelor’s degree in technology in forestry and wildlife management.

7258xSVeJbKkzXhyseBP4PYz11eBDT8sW2oR1a4vfVFS6JP6JX6qyv1Yf7784umvjzyyyNBBwrBi4M9a1P8GWXR3LUVTFfSGepYvP23xdgq4Acwa7NVo3XmUvpWbqQu7sDk3m4LeGRxGv.jpeg
My kids and I during an outdoor play

I am currently a classroom teacher trying to hone my teaching skills and also to source for finance for my postgraduate studies. I still see myself becoming a lecturer one day. Not only a lecturer but also becoming a professor, as my schoolmates used to call me. Although my dream of becoming a pilot has eluded me, I still see a brighter future ahead; I, standing in front of university students, lecturing them. Here's the link to my post on the lessons I learned from my experience with the kids

I am also a personal development coach in making. I love teaching people how to become a better version of themselves. I used to listen to audiotapes and reading books 📚 📖 📙 by motivational speakers like Richard Branson, Robert Kiyosaki, Myles Munroe, Tony Robbins, etc., to develop myself as I try to affect people.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmoJaPRBSvKgbHGRs9Ly9AANcBVS1f4sWsL9YXtdF3pS72ms66ewgm7zp6sVCVPv577u4782.jpeg

MY ADVICE TO YOUNG ONES (KIDS).

No one is going to pursue your dreams for you.

  • Richard Branson.
    The earlier you realise this, the better.
  • Differentiate your childhood fantasies from your dreams. Have realistic dreams.
  • Be stubborn about achieving your dreams.
  • To achieve your dreams, you need a clear cut strategy. A master plan.
  • The day you stop dreaming is the day you start to merely exist. Because, living is dreaming.
  • Dreams come true, they say, but not all dreams can turn to reality because some are just fantasies.

8SzwQc8j2KJZWBXFXnbnQ1FtoZhRqrTWozhqoqWHpGmpmnPGp6BwqNA5yBB9QJXBbw1USbcNN6zyAmG3wQ6ZAs3Q22aySSat45uaGiVJSzX22zYxDkJ.jpeg

CONCLUSION
The young me fantasised so many things, the grown up me is busy turning my dreams into reality.

Have I achieved my dreams? Yes and no.

Yes. Because I have fulfilled my dream of going to the university. I have also succeeded in graduating with a good result which will enhance the process of achieving my dream to be a teacher/lecturer in the nearest future.

No. Because I was unable to achieve my first dream of becoming a pilot.

Young man, young woman, you can always achieve your dreams. Why not start now?

See you when you get there!

Thanks for reading 📚 through my post. Hope you like my post.

I invite my friends @elshani, @hellgda, @marcelo, @maxine21 and @perterabagi to subscribe to #Steemkids community so as to participate in this contest.

Best regards; @jaspichman125.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Pilot! Teacher! Beautiful dreams.

Teaching; a very Noble profession.

We have one thing In Common, my both parents were teachers also.

This is beautiful

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words sir. May we continue to have the drive to fulfil our dreams.

I love this particular advice"Be stubborn about achieving your dreams"

Thanks for sharing

Best wishes

Thanks for stopping by to check my blog. I'm glad you found it helpful

Same here @peculiarem
I love it too
Be stubborn about achieving your dreams

Thanks for sharing
@jaspichman

Steem on
#nigeria

Thanks for stopping by to read through my blog. I'm glad you found it helpful. Steem on!

 3 years ago 

Hello @jaspichman125 thank you for sharing your childhood dreams with us. But you have to learn how to use the quotation marks " if you're using another person's quotes for example you would have used quotation marks here 👇

No one is going to pursue your dreams for you. The earlier you realise this, the better.

To show that it's not your own words or idea Hoped you will do better

@steemkidss, @ngoenyi. Thanks for the timely response Ma.

It must have been an oversight. I'll correct it.

No one is going to pursue your dreams for you.

  • Richard Branson

Then, this statement

The earlier you realise this, the better.

Was made by me as an emphasis to the quoted text above.

Thanks as you read through my blog again to see the effected correction. @steemkidss, @ngoenyi

Wow....
This is really lovely dear...
We all had a dream when we were small,some are still running with the dreams while some at a point had a change of dream but no matter what,we must hold unto our dreams stubbornly just as you said and work towards it,hopefully one day our dream will become our reality.
Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for stopping by to read through my blog. Thanks also for the insightful comment.

Keep doing your best

Thank you sir

@ jaspichman125
The write up is an encouragement to
the young people. Never be discouraged by the challenges of life.

 3 years ago 

Hello @jaspichman125 , Your post has been selected as one of the quality posts for the day by steemkids community. Congratulations! Please keep making quality and original contents with us here. We love you so much and will like to read more of your posts.

Wow. I'm glad to know that you found my post to be qualitative. It's my commitment to always post only quality contents here. Thanks a lot for the recognition @steemkidss

Best regards

Worth reading this❤️

Recommend reading this to every people specially our young generation.👌

Please be motivate and work hard and be TARGET ORIENTED🎯

I'm happy to be a recipient of such kind words from you. Thanks for stopping by to read through my blog.

I'll make sure I work harder and stay motivated towards achieving my dreams.
Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31